We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! This place was even better than I could imagine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Hut

Crab Hut
4646 Convoy Street, Suite 106A, San Diego, CA 92111
(858)565-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OMG! This place was even better than I could imagine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends who live in the area brought us there and told us what it was. The Crab Hut! CRAB, who wouldn't love that? It was so much more than that. I ordered clams, crawfish, snow crab and it was all in delivered in individual "baggies". All the flavors were in each bag - the herbs and spices. They always ordered theirs with the Full House, which was every spice offered. I ate every bite and left there as "happy as a clam"! I'm not even sure where that colloquialism was invented but I was HAPPY! If you love seafood and you really only want the best without all the pomp and circumstance, this is the place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    46
    22
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best hands on food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Our server made the right portion recommendation among the many options the menu offered. The bib and gloves were fun! The king crab was to die for! We've been talking about this place for days!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No breakfast and I wanted seafood...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fresh shrimp, unique serving style (the shrimp come in a plastic bag with the selected sauce), and pleasurably messy. Also had their chowder which was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wow! Why didn't I find this place before!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was looking for some peel and eat shrimp and came across a review for this place. Sounded good so we gave it a try. Boy am I glad we did! Located in a strip mall this isn't a fancy place and there isn't much ambience. Just some tables covered in butcher paper, a good selection of beer and amazingly good seafood! We ordered the king crab boil and added a pound of shrimp. You can create any combination you want from the selection of lobster, gungeness crabs, king crab, snow crab, shrimp, crawfish, mussels and clams. Then you select your spice and heat level. we chose the Full House spice, the most popular, and medium heat. It was perfect. The seafood was perfectly cooked, with just enough spice to get your attention. The potates and corn on the cob also absorbed that spice and were delicious as well. The only knock on this place is the goofy way they serve the boil. They bring it in a bucket. Inside the bucket is a boiling bag containing all the goodies. They just leave the bag on your table. Worst presentation of great food I've ever seen. Pour it in a nice bowl and it would be a feast for the eyes and nose as well as the mouth! But given how good it is I'll come back even if they seerve it on a shovel. This place rocks!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique casual seafood spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very casual seafood restaurant. you are given a bib, paper is placed on your table, and if you get one if their specialties prepared to get your hands dirty and chow down! Oh yeah, they give you plastic gloves to eat with too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crab Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.