We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you love sea food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Hut

Crab Hut
4646 Convoy Street, Suite 106A, San Diego, CA 92111
(858)565-1678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Ridgefield, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go if you love sea food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great selection. It looked like a lot of locals were there. Food was very good. I sat at the bar alone to eat, but did not feel uncomfortable at all. The bartender was friendly. Great local beers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    46
    21
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“True Cajun Eatin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Being brought up with Louisiana style cooking, I was very pleased to see Crab Hut nearby when I moved to San Diego a while back. This is just like home.....crab brought to the table, a bib to cover your clothes....then you start cracking away.

They have shrimp, crawfish, blue crab, Snow crab legs, king crab legs....chowder, jumbalaya...etc. When getting the shrimp, crab, crawfish boiled (Steamed) you can choose your seasoning and spices. I usualy get the Garlic butter 1/2 mild and the Cajun seasoning mild. A side of corn and I am good to go. There are two Crab Huts...one on Convoy and one Downtown. Convoy parking is tight, and I mean very tight. Downtown, you can park in the mall for three hours free. I prefer Convoy...not sure why the cooking is better there, but it is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent, fresh seafood served in a bag! The buckets are actually seafood steamed in your choice of sauce. Unique experience and very tasty.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sac
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lots of food, very tasty. Parking is tight and the space is small, but it is worth it! The seasoning are delicious and the king crab is my favorite. I tend to do the king/snow crab combo. Had the mudbugs, but they're not as good as what you get in texas or nola.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fast service, great good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

went with a bunch of friends and the atmosphere is great and cheery. love the shirts of the servers. prompt service - clam chowder was delicious! we got the pound of snow crab legs and that was enough for 1 person. i would definitely suggest an appetizer also.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Hut also viewed

 

Been to Crab Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.