We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Beach

Mission Beach
Mission Boulevard at Garnet Avenue, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)
619 221 8900
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$60*
and up
San Diego Coast Tour Including La Jolla and...
Ranked #26 of 192 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with Pacific Beach and Ocean Beach, Mission Beach forms the coastline of San Diego.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to Mission Beach twice and I have to say I enjoyed it more in 2010 than I did in 2012. The difference might have been time of year, but I have to say it seemed dirtier and more run down than I remember. That said, the beach is still very nice with a nice boardwalk along to walk, run, or ride a bike. The shops in the area are nice for little souvenirs and to grab a bite to eat.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    268
    73
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Must Do!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you enjoy people watching like I do I can think of no place I've ever been with a great diversity of people to watch. Just something about beautiful ladies riding by on roller blades working on their tans!!! The only thing negative to me about this area is the amount of public restrooms, good luck finding one!!!! Parking can be a bit tough too at times. But seriously, if you're in the San Diego area, and you like the beach and to watch people walk or ride by, you just got to go to Mission Beach!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lively beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The area is interesting and the beach is nice. A lot of surfing, a lot of partying. The boardwalk is full of people and places. There is a wave pool to surf in. An older rollercoaster. Parking can be difficult though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Summer Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Mission Beach was great. It was very clean and kid friendly. There were many restaurants to choose from off the beach. We'll be back next year.
Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great beach, good for beginner surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Really great beach, clean and good atmosphere. Good for walks/chilling out and great for beginner surfers and body boarders. Only a bus ride from the city centre.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Beach also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.