We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Zoo

San Diego Zoo
2929 Zoo Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
619 234 3153
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 221 attractions in San Diego
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of America's best, this famous zoo is home to some of the rarest animals in the world including giant pandas and koalas. Visitors explore animal habitats organized into 10 bioclimatic zones, from arctic tundra to rainforest.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wanted to bring my kids to this zoo having fond memories of my visit here when I was a teen.
We weren't terribly impressed and our main sentiment was simply -it's just another zoo.
Considering the entrance fee, I'd probably suggest doing something else with your time and money, if you've already visited a nice zoo before- unless of course you are a zoo enthusiast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,337
    1,725
    568
    120
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Day and half with panda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

nice zoo, good variate of animals ,,, Insect section is amazing! the new baby Panda is cute too...free bus tour and lift-line across zoo is free with 2days tickets

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When we went there it was a great day out with lots of really cool animals and a nice clean place. They have a very nice bus tour of the place you can take so that you get to see all the exhibits relatively quickly and then go back and look more in depth at your favorite ones.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are in the San Diego area you have to go to this zoo. You will have to plan for a full day from the time they open until they close. The zoos has created some of the best enclosures for the animals in their care that I have ever seen.
The best way to get the layout of the zoo is to take the free guided bus tour around the park. The park is very easy to get around, but wear comfortable shoes. There is a sky tram that you can take to the other side of the park. Depending on the time of the year and the day you may want to take the tram to the other side of the park to avoid the crowds at the front of the park and start to make your way to the front. There is every type of animal there and it is not hard to fill your memory card on your camera.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very impressive zoo. Just to walk through without the animals would be nice with all the foliage but the animals of course is what it's all about.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Zoo also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Diego Zoo to your Saves list