We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting SeaWorld” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SeaWorld San Diego

SeaWorld San Diego
500 SeaWorld Drive, SeaWorld of California, San Diego, CA 92109
800 25 SHAMU
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$20*
and up
SeaWorld San Diego Transportation and Admission
Ranked #30 of 193 Attractions in San Diego
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Aquariums, Amusement Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: SeaWorld takes you on a one-of-a-kind journey to the wonders that exist beyond the ocean's door. A place where up-close encounters connect you to the energy, excitement and mystery of the sea and sea life. A world of fascinating days, captivating nights and exhilarating adventure. Plus, Sesame Street presents Lights, Camera, Imagination!, a new 4-D movie and the all-new Sesame Street Bay of Play, an all-new play area with three family-friendly rides.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Winthrop
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“visiting SeaWorld”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Trip was great weather was good. Paid $15 for parking and extras in the park. Staff was great when we asked for help. It was a mid week visit so had pretty much a easy time getting around and seeing everything.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,996
    1,189
    515
    198
    129
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Get the ANNUAL Pass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My daughters absolutely LOVE SeaWorld! One day she wants to be a dolphin trainer. The absolute best way to see SeaWorld is with an Annual Pass if you have little kids. The first time we went our kids were 4 and 6 months old, (the annual pass was the same price as ONE DAY). So we bough it. We enjoyed 3 days (and with a 6 month old baby it was nice that we were not trying to get our money's worth and see it all in one day) We also made a second trip to California in the same year, partly to be able to make use of our annual passes! The second time we went 4 times, and our now 5 year old was able to touch a dolphin, and was in absolute heaven. The value at Sea World is awesome! The food inside the park is tasty too (of course it is not cheap, but it is good)

Parking offers in and out privileges so if you want to leave to eat, or for your kids to nap you can do. We found we would go first thing when it opened, and then stay till the baby was ready for a nap, and leave for the day. That way we got the most out of our day.

There are many great shows offered. The pets rule show is hilarious! Both our girls like that one. The Sea Lion show is also very funny. Our 5 year old of course loves Blue Horizons (the dolphin show) she can recite most of the show verbatim and she wants her hair in a pony just like Morena's (one of the stars of the show)

We had a great time at Seaworld and for value it is one of the best in the San Diego Area.

Have fun at Seaworld, and enjoy getting wet!

Connect with me on Facebook www.facebook.com/amandaevanscc or on my website www.amandaevanscc.com

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful water park. A few "rides" too. I love the acquariums. I don't think they should try to "train" killer whales though. They are wild animals. They will behave unpredictably, as wild animals do. That is why we should accord them respect and treat them as such.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sights, good show.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a work event, at night. Shamu was unable to perform, so we swathe sea lion show, which was very cute. highly recommended for the young ones. The food, however, was terrible. while I understand that is not their main focus, by far, it really could been a lot better with minimal effort. the ribs were uncuttable. there were no vegetarian options. the chicken was dry and bland. Probably won't go back - I've seen better exhibits at aquariums for much more reasonable cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family have been to SeaWorld San Diego few times for the past decade. Since we have been there for a couple of years we decided to pay a visit. My family noticed their animal exhibit became less interesting especially after they toning down the Shamoo shows. I have always had concerns on the marine animals there. It is perhaps a good thing. However, I became skeptical about the possibility of future visits. It is good that we had 3-in-1 tickets and could visit San Diego zoos in the trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaWorld San Diego also viewed

 

Been to SeaWorld San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaWorld San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.