We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-239-0512
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Balboa Park like an insider
Top Rated
$46*
and up
San Diego City Tour
Ranked #2 of 495 things to do in San Diego
Activities: Biking, City walk sightseeing, Walking, Viewing wildlife, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Beautiful architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Some of these buildings are built more than a 100 years ago. The layout of the park is lovely. A great place to start getting a feel of San Diego if you are visiting as a tourist.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,816
    831
    126
    21
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do the Tour First - Then Go Back to Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

For $5, you can get an audio tour of the main area of the park. I would encourage you to start there - you can park at Inspiration Point Parking lot and take the from there and go to the central part of the park - since there is no parking up near the center. The audio tour explains about the buildings and setting in Balboa and why things were set up - all for the 1915 Expo - very interesting.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I'm really glad we went to this park - it had a really nice botanical garden and statues and just a really scenic area to walk around and enjoy a peaceful walk.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome for every age!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I took a friend and their one and a half year old kid. I also took my daughter and my husband. Their was something for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Buildings, Beautiful Grounds, Best Desert Garden, Many Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Acres upon acres of beautiful, restful parkland and gardens to hang out in. The largest and most interesting collection of desert plants I have ever seen. Interesting buildings to see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.