We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The aviation museum is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-239-0512
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #14 of 240 Activities in San Diego
Type: Parks, Gardens, Playgrounds
Activities: Biking, City walk sightseeing, Walking, Viewing wildlife, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The aviation museum is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited the aviation museum a few years ago and really enjoyed it. From the old airliners to an actual Sopwith Camel, we thought it was money well spent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,159
    627
    96
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wish we started here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We tried to find "Balboa Park" using our phone's navigation on our first day in San Diego... it led us to a ditch near the zoo. We didn't get a chance to look again until late in the afternoon on our last day (by that time all the museums that we wanted to visit had closed). It was still fun to just walk around and there is tons to see besides the plethora of museums (architecture, gardens, trails, fitness courts, art demonstrations, outdoor theatres, etc.).

Start early and go to the park's Visitor's Center first (1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101). Balboapark.org is also a good place to get more information for planning your visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for a walk. The pond is a really nice detail. We went on a Saturday and noticed a lot of wedding activity going on, a plus for those getting married soon to get ideas. Overall not a bad place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Irvine, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are in San Diego don't forget to visit Balboa park. Its beautiful.Excellent museums and work of art was amazing. simply loved it..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a sunny day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are lucky enough to vacation in San Diego, don´t miss Balboa Park... everybody completes the day after visiting San Diego Zoo... I recommend that you schedule a whole day to visit it with no hurries... there are plenty of things to enjoy... interesting and educational museums, beautiful ponds and gardens... and lots of warm people!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.