We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely should visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-239-0512
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$34*
and up
San Diego City Tour
Ranked #16 of 327 Activities in San Diego
Type: Playgrounds, Gardens, Parks, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Biking, City walk sightseeing, Walking, Viewing wildlife, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely should visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Beautiful park with all sorts of museums! I didn't have much time,but if I would, I would spend at least three days in this park.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,308
    670
    100
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Museums galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful area. Numerous museums to visit. There is even a free park tram to get you from side to side of this enourmous park. Interesting history. The San Diego Zoo is located in Balboa Park. Definitely worth going to walk around or visiting a museum or just sitting and enjoying the architecture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tidewater, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great entertainment on a budget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were at the San Diego Zoo and could see the towers of Balboa Park across the hill, so we went to visit it the next day. Some of the museums cost money, but if you're on a budget you can still have a really good time! Plan on walking, parking is pretty far from anything in the park. My husband and I and two young kids spent all day there, and didn't spend any money except on food. We all loved different things about it.

The architecture and grounds were beautiful - lots of gardens and fountains and ponds, also a beautiful indoor (and cool relief from the heat) botanical gardens. There were street performers everywhere, and not just mediocre ones, but actual talent! Lots of different types of museums, a nice big playground, walking trails, etc. If you're hungry, don't miss The Prado - it was a little on the expensive side, but one of the best food experiences we had in San Diego.

However it was a little hard to navigate - we couldn't find a map anywhere in the park, so we downloaded one for our android phone to find our way around. And the bathrooms at the playground were disgusting - no doors on the stalls and absolutely filthy!! Even my 8-year-old son refused to use it, but decided to wait until we got back to the hotel.

Overall though I wouldn't have missed it for the world! We all loved it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, Bad Signage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went to Balboa Park to take my dogs to the dog park. Drove around for about 30 minutes and could not find any of the 3 dog parks. Finally found someone walking their dogs and asked where the dog park was.

Once we got there it was a lot of fun. Nice large park with trees and benches. Seperate drinking fountains for both people and dogs. All the dogs where nice, only had one owner that was too busy on his phone to pay attention to his dog.

Overall a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galliano, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So much to do and see here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My daughter has been living in San Diego since 1997. I have visited there many times and go often to Balboa Park. I never get tired of going there. So much to see and do. This time we took the toddler and her road a train, played on tree stumps, and so much more. I love the museums, especially the train and vintage cars. All of it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.