We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balboa Park on Christmas day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-239-0512
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #13 of 240 Activities in San Diego
Type: Parks, Gardens, Playgrounds
Activities: Biking, City walk sightseeing, Walking, Viewing wildlife, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
MARICOPA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Balboa Park on Christmas day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Balboa Park is one of the best kept parks anywhere. The architecture of the old buildings and the sculpting on the buildings provides the viewer with the notion that one could keep coming back and not ever see everything of worth. I have been coming here since boot camp, Navy Training Center, in 1956, I love this place, the museums the street entertainers and the concerts.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,154
    624
    96
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fabulously located and so much to do with something for everyone: from the zoo to the art galleries/museums plus lots of open space for running around or watching the world go by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazeballs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place was very beautiful. Went during September and it was just perfect to walk around and enjoy the many locations. I totally recommend it to anyone in the San Diego, So Cal area. We parked in the San Diego Zoo parking lot (free) and after visiting the Zoo for a few hours (not free, like 40 bucks + per person) we walked down this small lane and ended up at Balboa Park. Loved the sights, the plants, the architecture, and the wonderful picture ops with my significant other. Even had an amazing lunch at the Prado restaurant with a wonderful outside sitting scenery, great service, and delicious food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Obviously”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent all day New Year's Day in the park. We hit up the Model Railway Museum (quite impressive, and quaint, fun to watch the old guys behind the glass making sure everything runs smoothly), and the zoo, which is a must see.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Balboa Park Train Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to the Train Museum with 2 of our grandsons and saw a bagpipe group playing near the Scottish House and an organ recital starting in an outdoor ampitheater and lots of interesting people along the way!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.