We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review from a seasoned traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
So Cal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Review from a seasoned traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Is it possible that a Courtyard is the No. 2 rated hotel in all of San Diego? Yes it is!!

So, from someone that has stayed at 100's of hotels across the globe in the past 10 years I can attest that this is a great hotel. Why? Service and friendlinest! It started with the lady who picked me up with the hotel shuttle at the airport (arrived 2 minutes after I called for a pick-up ) - I kid you not, two minutes, sorry I don't remember her name, to the two front desk receptionist (Stephanie and Evelyn) who both provided excellent service, even when I needed many color copies of a presentation printed on short notice, to John (the Lobby bartender) that also provided execellent service.



You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    232
    40
    16
    6
See reviews for
297
218
46
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

From the moment we walked into the lobby we knew this was going to be a great stay. The staff at the front desk was very friendly, efficient, and made the effort to give us a room that met all of our requests. The room itself was modern, large, and extremely comfortable. The food in the dining room was high quality, fresh, and delicious. The full breakfast buffet in the morning is an excellent value at just $13, or $11 for the continental breakfast (which was much more than just a stale muffin and juice like most other hotels). The location is excellent, just off off Harbor Drive, which takes you to anywhere you could want to go in the city. Yes, it is near the airport, so do expect some airplane noise (our room faced the airport but the slight rumble of planes taking off was not bad at all, and we couldn't hear it at all after we went to bed). I would absolutely stay in this hotel again on our next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband, 2 1/2 year old son, and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and well located. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool, so the view was very nice from there. I had added a comment online when I booked that we would prefer a room with a balcony, and we did receive that type of room. Liberty Station was a beautiful, clean, and safe feeling area. There is a trail behind the hotel that you can walk down to go to a great park with a playground. This was one of the nicest playgrounds that we have been to. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, so we did a lot of our dining out near the hotel. The room had a refrigerator, but no microwave. This hotel is really near the airport, so if you are outside you will hear and see planes taking off and landing. The view of the airplanes taking off was a plus for us because our son loved seeing them. The noise inside was not enough to disturb us. I dropped the sleep quality down 1 mark from excellent only because one night there were people talking too loud and too late on the patio below our room which made it a little difficult to sleep. All of the attractions we wanted to go to in San Diego were just a short drive away from this hotel without having to fight downtown traffic. We did enjoy the fact that there was a nice laundry facility and free internet in the business center at this hotel. The only thing that could make this hotel better would be a free breakfast buffet, but I have not seen one of those in a Courtyard. We will be staying at this hotel if we return to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Clean, crisp, new rooms with a frig and microwave. Friendly staff and decent breakfast buffet. Pool is a good size and not too crowded.
This place is the best if you have young kids. A HUGE and beautiful park right near the hotel, with great water views and you can see the airplanes take off! Also with 2 great kid parks for them to slide on. Walking distance is a great shopping/food complex so you dont have to waste your time looking for meals. Los Primos mexican food is just awesome, as is the Thai and sushi places. This hotel is so close to Sea World and downtown (4 miles each) - that it doesnt make sense to stay and pay overpriced hotel rates to be downtown. This is just one of the most convenient, clean, best located and kid friendly hotels I have ever seen. And free Wi-Fi!!!!!!!!!!
Cons - thin walls, can hear your neighbors, sadly this is true of all new construction hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Hotel opened in 2008; is well maintained. The staff is very helpful. Great location central to most attractions; BEAUTIFUL VIEW!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I traveled with our two toddler children. The room was quite large, which is nice because we set up a travel cot and pack & play for the kids. Only a couple of minor complaints, one being there aren't really adequate hooks for hanging towels in the bathroom and I also wish the bathroom had a much stronger fan. Husband was impressed with the buffet, as he brought our food to the room and the staff accomodated our every need with trays and cups with lids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a gem! My college age son and I got a room with a meal credit and that was about right for a nice room and two very good breakfast buffets. The pool and hot tub are great, the restaurant was pretty good for a hotel, and the grounds were magnificent. Our room had one of those Keurig coffee makers in it and it was neat to try one out.

The Liberty Station area is cool. It's across from the airport; so, you get a bit of air traffic noise. We were able to block that out. I was able to take a nice long walk the evening before my son's flight arrived and found a Trader Joe's and a Vons market. There are some delightful restaurants in the area, too. I highly recommend De Kine and the Corvette Diner.

It's easy getting around the Liberty Station area and this is a great place to stay when in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.