We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Liberty Station is part of the old Navy Yard. Very close to the airport and Route 5. This convenient Courtyard has the nicest staff at the front desk and in the restaurants. It is close to everything and has free parking. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    252
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
311
231
47
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like all other reviews, we love the location. So close to everything, in a quiet neighborhood with some wonderful restaurants a short walk away. The staff are always pleasant, and the rooms are basic Courtyard Marriott rooms. We always request a top floor because you can hear walking and walls are not soundproofed. If you're a light sleeper, the planes can be bothersome in the early am since the windows are not soundproofed either.

Room Tip: choose a top floor and if you face the park, it can be noisy in the early am with the naval cadets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the return business! That says a lot when there are so many choices for hotels in San Diego.

Yes, we do have our share of military training happening, although they can be heard sometimes, it's a great visual to see our great folks training to help secure America. Our windows are very heavily glassed for extra soundproofing...I don't know why your room didn't seem to have enough?

Thanks again, and just an fyi,..all of our rooms are getting renovated at the end of the year...and our Lobby renovation will be done in a few weeks. It looks awesome!

When will the 4th time be???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is right in the middle of where you need to be. By that I mean, it's next to the airport for convenience, it's next to Harbor and Shelter Islands, it's next to Point Loma and Mission Beach, it's next to downtown San Diego, Old Town is litterly around the corner and it gives you convenient access to Sea World, Pacific Beach and a scenic route to La Jolla. It is surrounded by great running routes and walking areas.

Room Tip: The East facing rooms have a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks FLORIDA! I'm heading to your great state next month!

I 100% agree with you about being centrally located. Plus we have FREE PARKING which makes it even better!

We really appreciate the nice review and for staying with us. Thanks you, thank you...THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here while visiting USD. We found the property very charming. There seemed to be some construction going on the bottom floor, but it wasn't obtrusive in any way. The room was just what I expect from Courtyard. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks Mike!

We really appreciate the kind words...and the business.

"Charming" is a great word to describe our location. Quiet, parks, walking paths, historic buildings...just a super area.

Glad you thought our folks were nice...I have already shared your review with the team.

My best to you and your family...we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The courtyard is a perfect spot for a family with small children. The location next to the park and bike trail is a perfect spot for the little ones to run and play. The refrigerator and microwave an extra bonus in the room.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks Kim!

Yes, we are fantastic for families, but we are also great for business travel and anything in-between.

Thanks for taking the time to let others know about your experience...and for staying with us.

Please come back in 2 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow what a wonderful property with free parking and one of the best (If not best) spread for breakfast and at a reasonable cost. The property is huge and gives feel of full service hotels. The best part is location, hardly few minutes from airport and hotel offers round the clock shuttle. The hotel is situated in former naval training center and been redeveloped for public use. The architecture is beautifully preserved and all the buildings show that. We stayed for 2 nights at this property of our 5 nights in San Diego. The small river behind the property is a nice open space to relax in the evenings or early morning walks.

I will give 4 stars to the property and definitely recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We APPRECIATE this review and your business. Thanks so much...and WOW back to ya!

So glad you enjoyed breakfast! With smoked salmon, hand carved meat station and eggs cooked to order, I think it's a huge value...especially when you park us next to our competition. And our service is one of the best....Lisa B and Jose Luis are wonderful hospitality folks that LOVE to make memories.

Liberty Station is such a cool new area that adds another dimension to San Diego. So much to do within walking distance...in a safe, calm, park-like setting. Walk to Stone Brewery for an ice cold lager...or enjoy your favorite sport and burger at Slater's 50/50 restaurant....a treat for sure.

you noticed our...FREE PARKING did ya?! Yes, plenty of it as well....not the norm in San Diego. For those out there shopping around....make sure you ask about the cost of parking. We are also one of the few that have complimentary airport transportation also. Stop looking around...your too busy for that...call us now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a v. good airport style hotel, in a lovely area by the river. Second stop here, only negative was the closure of their main restaurant due to refurbishment and not being informed at time of booking. It was on the website later.
The courtesy bus service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hey, that's my line! "It is what it is..."

Thanks for the nice review and for staying with us.

Sorry about the restaurant closure. But in our defense, we are a rare Courtyard in that we have 2 restaurants. Our very cool, and recently opened Bistro restaurant is open for business! We never had a time where we didn't have delicious food or great drinks to serve our wonderful guests.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.