We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visit San Diego 2-3 times a year. This is now our go-to hotel. We had a water front room. A must here. I'm assuming if you were to face the parking lot it would be a whole different feel. We were celebrating my husband's birthday after a day at SeaWorld. The hotel was kind enough to let us bring pizza from Oggi's close by and drinks to the outside fire pit area. We swam in the heated pool and enjoyed the Jacuzzi.
Make sure you walk to the Stone Brewery for dinner. It is divine.
We also walked along the water to a great breakfast place called Cone Pan. Great baked items and coffee
The room was well equipped. We had 2 mini fridges, microwave and coffee maker. We would sit on our balcony and enjoy the view.
The hotel also has a great happy hour. Half of appetizers and deals on wine and beer. We took advantage of that every day.
Check in was a breeze. We plan on returning mid February.

Room Tip: Water front, end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, yesterday
We LOVE to hear that we are officially your GO-TO hotel! That's the ultimate THANK YOU...
It sounds like you took full advantage of the great things in Liberty Station.

You had one of our premium rooms that has a microwave and larger fridge. It's nice especially if you are staying more than a few days.

Thanks so much again....and see you in a few months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    226
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
292
210
46
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This place is great! Clean, close to shops and food, beautiful views and a great jogging trail just outside. Not walking distance to downtown but if you need a place close to the airport this is a good home base for sure!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks to a "senior contributor"!

Love to get these from road warriors...you guys know best and can compare us with the rest. So when you give us a strong rating like you did, it gives us goose bumps! (ok, maybe that's stretching it a bit...), anyway, THANKS!

Our hotel is great and we have won numerous awards over the 6 short years we have been here. It's the great culture we have and being a part of the Liberty Station area only doubles your fun!

Come give us a try out there...'what r ya waitin fer?!'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 7 nights (on points) with my wife and 2 kids (11 & 12) while on vacation. Rooms were clean, had a fridge, and we never heard a single plane while in our room. Only real negative I can think of was that the toilet made a constant 'drip' sound, but it really wasn't a big deal. Nice location - central to everything, yet in a very quiet and safe neighborhood. A bunch of restaurants and a grocery store are about a 10-15 minute walk (or 2 minute drive) away.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Greetings!

Love the New England area! I spent high school thru college in a small town called Westford, MA. Loved it...except when the high school bully picked on me, but that's another story. Ha!

Thanks for 7 nights with us! That's a TON of points you had to use, so that means you are a big deal in the Marriott world! So thanks for being a loyal Elite member!'

Yes, lots to do in Liberty Station now a days. We have a new "open market" coming soon that will have a variety of vendors with fresh produce, and other wares.

Anyway, thanks for reviewing us and for spending your hard earned points with us, Im glad we did our part!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 3 days. Room was great, very clean and up-to-date. Food and Starbucks in hotel; range of prices for breakfast. Beautiful grounds. Convenient to local attractions. Nice pool and hot tub areas and seating indoor and out. Wifi and business center.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the end of the hall and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: We chose to reuse our towels. There was recycling.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for staying with us! 3 days is enough time to get the feel of the place, so I'm thrilled that you felt good about your visit.

The weather has been great (a tad warmer than Minnesota, huh?)...and it lends itself to the area we are in, Liberty Station. It's very calm and easy to walk around. Parks, restaurants, many cool venues to explore...and downtown and the Coronado bridge within view.

We really appreciate our guests, especially those that take the time to let others know like you have. Thanks again, and we wish you and your family the very best.

Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used this hotel as the headquarters for a conference. The meeting rooms were well set up. There were some issues with the sound and projection that were worked out. The hotel did seem overwhelmed on the first day when the lunch restaurant was overwhelmed; insufficient food or staff. The two dinners they put on, an outdoor buffet and then the banquet were both done well.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for biz Hal! Glad you enjoyed the event. We have a wonderful banquet staff led by Oscar the wonderful!

Sorry we had a hiccup with the sound system, but glad we got it worked out.

Thanks for all those reviews you do, it really helps! Your a busy guy Hal! Love Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The beds are comfy, room has refrigerator and microwave as well as a second mini-fridge and coffee service. Views are great! Other reviewers are right: you really do not hear the planes even though from the room balcony you can see them landing and taking off very near by. The pool and hot tub are nice, and there is a fire pit near there to sit around and enjoy a beverage and conversation. The bar is welcoming and the bartender is as nice as everyone else says in their reviews. Staff is great! Very friendly and helpful. Tons of hangars in the closet. Plenty of outlets for the electrical devices you might have along for the trip. The room had a sofa bed, coffee tables, desk and chair and suffiicient space for it all.

The negatives are the towels and laundry facilities. We tossed a wash cloth aside thinking a dirty one had been left in the room. The others were a dingy gray and scratchy to the touch, and postage stamp sized. The washer worked gret, but the dryer we used in the laundry facilities did not dry things even though we ran them through twice.

I would stay there again, but for $200 plus per night, you would think their towels would be better than a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the bay, and upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for the glowing remarks! (well, mostly, lol) It's funny that you mention the towels because we just switched to an upgraded quality last month. It will take some time to weed out the old, but it's getting better soon. We used the Courtyard Brand Specified towel and felt it wasn't quite the offering our great guests deserve. And yes, we aren't the cheapest hotel in San Diego, but we try like heck to give you the most value we possibly can. People forget to add on the parking fees that other hotels charge, so make sure it's apples to apples! Also, we are in Liberty Station...the coolest place in San Diego currently!

Sorry about the dryer not working well. I'm having my engineer look at it, thanks for letting us know. The dryer should DRY the clothes from the washer...period. We will make it work!

I love that you would come back and stay with us though! We are VERY excited about our new lobby renovation that will transform us into a more hip and cool hotel!

Thanks again, and all the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Family friendly hotel. Nice rooms, welcoming stuff, yummy breakfast... location is perfect for everybody... close to water, park, restaurants and markets... it is close to the airport but good thing is that there is no flight at night...

Room Tip: Definitely bay view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks Gayane!

I just love it when guests say that..."A HOME AWAY FROM HOME"...that's the ultimate compliment, along with, "we will stay there again when we return to SD".

We have a great group of people here that really understand what hospitality means. The housekeepers are wonderful and hard working and contribute to that feeling of "home".

While we aren't perfect, we ALWAYS are trying to be.

Thanks for taking the time, and for the business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.