We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel with terrific amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Utah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel with terrific amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a convention. The location was perfectly situated, next to the airport, 5 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes to Seaworld and beaches. The rooms were well appointed. There is a coffee shop and restaurant with a very good buffet style breakfast. The bar is nice and their bartender makes his own signature margarita. Fitness facility is fairly well equipped but running along the adjacent Esplanade Waterway is preferable to any treadmill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post about your recent stay. We all agree the Jim’s margarita’s are amazing however they might make the early morning run start a little later. Either way I’m with you and would still chose the Esplanade. Hope you get to visit when you’re not working.

Take care and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    219
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
287
209
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a first stay at the Liberty Station Courtyard for four nights to attend a meeting. It is a very busy hotel close to the airport. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, especially Samantha at the front desk when we asked to change rooms in order to get a better view. The Liberty Station redevelopment is a great locale. There are some very good restaurants and shopping opportunities within walking distance. Outside on the waterfront, there is a good walking/running trail as long as you can handle the jets taking off from the airport directly overhead.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water if possible. The south side of the hotel looks directly onto another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I hope it will not be your last stay. So happy to hear that our staff took good care of you; and I agree Samantha is a great asset to our property. All our staff read these comments and I know she will be excited to know she made your stay more enjoyable. And with the airport takeoff area being 7/10th of a miles down the path – it’s a great area to watch them depart from. I do hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and our 18 month old stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great experience. The hotel was extremely easy to get to from the airport, and the service we received was fantastic. From the front desk to the breakfast service everyone was polite and willing to help with anything. Also, for being so close to the airport, I did not feel like we heard many planes. At least, not where it was bothersome or memorable.

I had wrestled with picking a hotel in the downtown area or this one, and I was very satisfied with the one I chose. The downtown was a little too congested and paying upward of $40 per night for parking seemed crazy to me. We rented a car so the free parking was a major plus. Also, the proximity to almost anything (downtown, the zoo, restaurants, old town) was a short drive.

All-in-all I would probably stay at this hotel again during our next family trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We realize you have a lot of hotels to choose from and are glad you picked us. I’m also happy to see that we lived up to that choice. The free parking and wifi service can certainly make a big difference when comparing hotels. We work very hard to make sure each guest has a memorable stay and it looks like we were successful. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please do visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the San Diego Airport but is long over due for remodeling and upgrading. In addition they charge extra for wifi which I have come to expect as a freeby. My room was ok but a looooong walk from the lobby. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry that our property was not to your liking. Obviously, I’m going to disagree and based on comments posted I feel the majority of our guests will back me up. I’m also confused by your wifi comment because we do provide free wifi for all guests. Once you sign on the network you click on a “radio button” for 24hr free access.

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had an early flight into San Diego, and got to this hotel around 1030am. Even though check-in was not until later on in the afternoon, and the hotel was supposedly sold out the night before, they had a room available for us. This helped a lot as we were flying all night, and needed some rest before going to explore the city. The room was very clean and modern. The mattress was very comfortable, and I slept well - the room was very quiet. The staff was pleasant and friendly both at check-in and check out. Very pleased with the stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our guaranteed check in is at 4pm but we always try to accommodate anyone wishing to check in earlier. I’m so glad to hear we were able to do so in your case. Especially since you arrived on the eye red – we’ve all know what those are like. Thanks for mentioning the staff – they all work hard to make each stay special and they will be please to read your comments.

Have a great day and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Courtyard Liberty Station and were very happy with the whole experience. Our King room with balcony on the 3rd floor looked out to the waterway and all the activity in the pool and the park but noise was not a problem. The room itself was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities. We didn't try the restaurant but the bar with Jim the bartender is a treasure. The cafe was quite nice with Starbuck's coffee drinks and tasty breakfast snacks. Parking is free, location is convenient and staff is friendly and professional. Well worth a stay when in SD.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hope things are well on the East Coast and I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work hard to make sure everyone has a great experience and we seem to have been successful in your case. We agree that Jim is an amazing bartender and I know he will be glad to read your comments.

Do come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had been visiting SoCal, starting in LA, and ending in San Diego. My flight out to the East Coast was scheduled for 7AM.... arrrgghhh. So, I decided to stay close to the airport. I wasn't expecting anything but a good Marriott bed, and found a very comfortable, well appointed room, the very comfy bed with six different kinds of pillows, a first floor location, and 2 minutes drive to the rental car return. It made for a very comfortable trip to the departure gate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Appreciate the kind words. We know travelling can be a challenge so I’m glad we were able to provide a great jumping off point. I hope the rest of the trip was a success and please come visit us again when for can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.