We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel with terrific amenities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #24 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel with terrific amenities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a convention. The location was perfectly situated, next to the airport, 5 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes to Seaworld and beaches. The rooms were well appointed. There is a coffee shop and restaurant with a very good buffet style breakfast. The bar is nice and their bartender makes his own signature margarita. Fitness facility is fairly well equipped but running along the adjacent Esplanade Waterway is preferable to any treadmill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post about your recent stay. We all agree the Jim’s margarita’s are amazing however they might make the early morning run start a little later. Either way I’m with you and would still chose the Esplanade. Hope you get to visit when you’re not working.

Take care and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
340 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a first stay at the Liberty Station Courtyard for four nights to attend a meeting. It is a very busy hotel close to the airport. The staff is very helpful and accommodating, especially Samantha at the front desk when we asked to change rooms in order to get a better view. The Liberty Station redevelopment is a great locale. There are some very good restaurants and shopping opportunities within walking distance. Outside on the waterfront, there is a good walking/running trail as long as you can handle the jets taking off from the airport directly overhead.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water if possible. The south side of the hotel looks directly onto another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I hope it will not be your last stay. So happy to hear that our staff took good care of you; and I agree Samantha is a great asset to our property. All our staff read these comments and I know she will be excited to know she made your stay more enjoyable. And with the airport takeoff area being 7/10th of a miles down the path – it’s a great area to watch them depart from. I do hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and our 18 month old stayed here for 3 nights, and had a great experience. The hotel was extremely easy to get to from the airport, and the service we received was fantastic. From the front desk to the breakfast service everyone was polite and willing to help with anything. Also, for being so close to the airport, I did not feel like we heard many planes. At least, not where it was bothersome or memorable.

I had wrestled with picking a hotel in the downtown area or this one, and I was very satisfied with the one I chose. The downtown was a little too congested and paying upward of $40 per night for parking seemed crazy to me. We rented a car so the free parking was a major plus. Also, the proximity to almost anything (downtown, the zoo, restaurants, old town) was a short drive.

All-in-all I would probably stay at this hotel again during our next family trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o_hout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We realize you have a lot of hotels to choose from and are glad you picked us. I’m also happy to see that we lived up to that choice. The free parking and wifi service can certainly make a big difference when comparing hotels. We work very hard to make sure each guest has a memorable stay and it looks like we were successful. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please do visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to the San Diego Airport but is long over due for remodeling and upgrading. In addition they charge extra for wifi which I have come to expect as a freeby. My room was ok but a looooong walk from the lobby. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolyCrossSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry that our property was not to your liking. Obviously, I’m going to disagree and based on comments posted I feel the majority of our guests will back me up. I’m also confused by your wifi comment because we do provide free wifi for all guests. Once you sign on the network you click on a “radio button” for 24hr free access.

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had an early flight into San Diego, and got to this hotel around 1030am. Even though check-in was not until later on in the afternoon, and the hotel was supposedly sold out the night before, they had a room available for us. This helped a lot as we were flying all night, and needed some rest before going to explore the city. The room was very clean and modern. The mattress was very comfortable, and I slept well - the room was very quiet. The staff was pleasant and friendly both at check-in and check out. Very pleased with the stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Our guaranteed check in is at 4pm but we always try to accommodate anyone wishing to check in earlier. I’m so glad to hear we were able to do so in your case. Especially since you arrived on the eye red – we’ve all know what those are like. Thanks for mentioning the staff – they all work hard to make each stay special and they will be please to read your comments.

Have a great day and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Courtyard Liberty Station and were very happy with the whole experience. Our King room with balcony on the 3rd floor looked out to the waterway and all the activity in the pool and the park but noise was not a problem. The room itself was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities. We didn't try the restaurant but the bar with Jim the bartender is a treasure. The cafe was quite nice with Starbuck's coffee drinks and tasty breakfast snacks. Parking is free, location is convenient and staff is friendly and professional. Well worth a stay when in SD.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bostonmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hope things are well on the East Coast and I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work hard to make sure everyone has a great experience and we seem to have been successful in your case. We agree that Jim is an amazing bartender and I know he will be glad to read your comments.

Do come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folly Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had been visiting SoCal, starting in LA, and ending in San Diego. My flight out to the East Coast was scheduled for 7AM.... arrrgghhh. So, I decided to stay close to the airport. I wasn't expecting anything but a good Marriott bed, and found a very comfortable, well appointed room, the very comfy bed with six different kinds of pillows, a first floor location, and 2 minutes drive to the rental car return. It made for a very comfortable trip to the departure gate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geocdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Appreciate the kind words. We know travelling can be a challenge so I’m glad we were able to provide a great jumping off point. I hope the rest of the trip was a success and please come visit us again when for can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing