We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was the best price in the area! We planned ahead and bought breakfast for all 4 mornings ahead of time and it did save us money! The breakfast was so good and the omelette station was the best! Those girls know how to make a mean omelette. The hotel was super clean and everyone was so nice and friendly all the time. It certainly caters to families which was a plus. The only negative feedback is the hours the pool was open. Our room was right by the pool and there were a lot of kids in there last night till about 11. Other than that we had the best time for the money we spent. Oh and great location too. We were able to walk along the water or walk to get dinner and ice cream. We will for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: I suggest a room on an upper floor away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We share all these with our staff – our kitchen crew and housekeeping staff will be stoked to read these. I would like to apologize for the noise- since we sell sleep; we make every effort to ensure that area is patrolled during the night. I’ll speak with our security team and review our process.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    262
    48
    18
    6
See reviews for
332
239
48
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on July 4 after a long drive from NM. Check in was fast and easy. The bed was comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The caper chicken was good, but the fried seafood platter was not appetizing at all and my husband could only east a few bites. The pool the next morning was the perfect temperature as was the hot tub. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Appreciate you choosing to spend the 4th with us and for posting your comments. I’m happy you enjoyed the chicken but I’m sorry that the seafood platter was not a success. I’ll speak with our chef and review that dish to see what we could do differently. I hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We originally had reservations for a three night stay, but had to cut it short by one night. The front desk said just to tell them before noon and they would cancel the third night with no charge. The staff was great and answered any questions we had about the area, The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very good and convenient at $12.50 per person all you can eat. This hotel is in a very convenient location with the Liberty Station shops and restaurants within walking distance. There is also an enormous green area and walking trail right next to the hotel. The airport is close by, but never heard a plane from our room. This hotel is on a waterway that comes off the bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
So sorry to hear that you had to leave early but glad to see we were able to make that change for you. Glad to see you were able to get out and explore our little community of Liberty Station – we all love it and we love to hear that others to do.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights staring July 1, 2013. Our first time to San Diego. We enjoyed ourselves. The Hotel was very nice and clean. We got 2 regular queen beds, nothing special. We slept well except the airplane noise which it didn't really bother us so much. The only downside is the breakfast is NOT complimentary unlike our visits to Residence Inn the other night. Miriam is very nice and Terry from the Front Desk, housekeeper Maria was awesome. We didn't really spend so much time in the Hotel but we saw plenty of good stuff. We'll come and stay here again around Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I’ll be sure to share your comments with Miriam, Terry and Maria – I know they will be excited to see them. You are correct that breakfast is not included in most rates. However, we do offer a few rates that do include breakfast – when you rebook in December please inquire if we have any of those available.
Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked this property on-line in advance of our holiday to San Diego. We arrived after a long international flight and drive from LAX and were allowed check-in a bit early. Had a room on level three that was very comfortable. The motel is reasonably new and the decor and cleanliness is excellent. Parking is free and easy out the front of the motel and there was a very nice pool area and restaurant, although we did not eat there. The staff were helpful and friendly and the price for three days was reasonable. Close to down town San Diego and as a bonus Squirrel are plentiful in the gardens at the rear of the motel and as I have not seen one before it was a bit of a treat. Lastly, the best feature was free and easy wi-fi internet. Marriott are streets ahead of Hilton in this regard. Well done Marriott Liberty Station. Negatives are hard to identify, perhaps the aircraft noise from the close San Diego Field but its not something that will be a real burden in my opinion. If you like ask for a room at the front of the motel. I would certainly stay here again on my next visit, I recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of motel away from aircraft flight paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I thought the hotel was very clean, friendly and in a good location! Loved the breakfast they serve for $12.50, my son who is 6 ate for $6.50 and the triplets ate for free (19 mo.) The rooms are very clean, you walk into a room and you know the cleaning staff takes pride in what they do! Also for a late night snack we had the banana bread pudding, it was decadent! The only thing I noticed is that there was no ventilation system in our bathroom. That I think was the only downfall. My family will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for the review and the shout out to our housekeeping staff. You are correct, they do take a lot of pride in what they do and they do it well. We share these comments with the staff so both them and the kitchen crew will be excited to see them.
Don’t stay away to long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We decided to go on a quick family vacation and try something different, to our luck on our way there our brand new car engine went out (YES BRAND NEW) after a rental and long hours by the time we got to the hotel our day was pretty much done and front desk girl found out about our car mission so she was nothing but understanding and accommodate us right away, even though our day had turned out to be a nightmare we were able to make the best out of it. Our kids went swimming in the pool, order food from the restaurant, by the way it was so good and the bartender (Jim) was awesome he made our day turn out to be a great one. The rooms are so nice and clean and the water view rooms are just so relaxing, we went the next day to Seaport Village which is only like 10-15 minutes away and Gaslamp District about the same distance.

We had to leave back to Arizona but our car stayed behind after 2 weeks we had to come back and pick up our car at the dealership shop and with no hesitation we decided without doubt to book this location again, as we checked in the front desk girl remember us and was very friendly, we decided to make this the trip that was interrupted last time and make the best of this, went downstairs and the bartender (Jim) once he saw us when we sat down he remember us as well and said I know what you guys want and started making our drinks, now that is what we called customer service. This location is by far the best we have stayed at and we travel quite often and stayed at multiple locations but we found our San Diego location and will definitely recommend it to all of our friends and family.

Thanks Guys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear about your car troubles. That is no way to start a vacation but I’m glad we were able to provide a little relaxation. We all agree the Jim is awesome and an important part of our team. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.