We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Liberty Station was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Englewood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marriott Liberty Station was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at this hotel and were very happy with the hotel and the location. Great walking area, and safe. Rooms were very clean and staff was super! My wife left her purse in the lobby by mistake and it was returned to us by Asst. Manager MacDonald. All her cash and credit cards were still in the purse. Honesty, is very important to us as retired school teachers, The loss of her cash and credit cards would have ruined our vacation. A big Thank You to Duncan MacDonald and Marriott. John K.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback and discuss them all with our staff. I just glad we were able to get the purse back safe and sound.

Travel Safe and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    209
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
276
204
44
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend with family. I got a water view room with two queen beds on 4th floor right above the pool. We have two toddlers travelling with us, and the room's balcony facing waterfront/pool/park is an attraction on its own. The kids would not come inside the room...All the bird/boat/plane watching was just too much fun for them!
The hotel's facility is very neat and cozy. We love the decorations in the room. It actaully feels better than a Marriot SPA resort. Surprisingly we couldn't hear airplane noises at all inside the room even though the location is so close to the airport. Free parking is awesome. Even though there's not complimentary breakfast, I like the fact that they have a little deli providing inexpensive breakfast sandwich options for a quick bite before we go about our day.
The only thing that took one star off is the common area cleaness. I constantly saw little pieces of trash and dirt on the elevator carpet. Maybe it's because we have toddlers so I looked down quite a bit. Also when my husband was getting ice from the ice machine, my two-yr-old son accidentally put his hand inside the ice outlet. His hand was all black dirty and moldy when he pulled it out. We can imagine how dirty it must be inside the machine. The ice isn't meant for eating, and it's not a big deal to us. But a little more thoroughness towards cleaning would grant five stars to our overall experience.

Room Tip: water view room with balcony is awesome for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I glad that you enjoyed your stay, but want to apologize for the condition of the ice machine. We monitor them on a regular basis but obviously that interval needs to chance. It has already been addressed with our engineering department.
I do agree that we have an excellent location to use as you explore the rest of San Diego. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May for 3 nights, and we have no regrets. Check-in was easy, the girls at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The room was clean, bathroom was clean, place was very quiet, and we all had a good night sleep. There was a church close by for Sunday service, restaurants within the area, and it was an easy drive to SeaWorld, Seaport and Coronado. Pool was small, but clean and warm enough for the kids to play in. Lots of space/trails to walk/bike right outside the door! Breakfast buffet was a bit pricey, but pretty good and convenient. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I agree, Liberty Station does have some great little restaurants and a great jumping off point to explore San Diego. Appreciate the shout out for our front desk staff. They work hard to make each stay special and will be happy to read these.

See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed here four different times. The Liberty Station location is excellent. It is near the airport, the Liberty Station bars and restaurants, the sport fishing fleet, Point Loma and Liberty Station and Spanish Landing parks. The property is a typical Courtyard facility. In the US, the new ones seem to be very similiar in format although the amenities here seem much more expansive than some other new ones like Larkspur in the Bay area. This one has a very nice business center, pool area, restaurant and bar. An entry sign says Jim is rated on Trip Advisor as the best bartender in San Diego. We visited the bar for a great value happy hour and can confirm that Jim is an exceptional bartender and a charismatic guy who gives great service. The food was far better than any hotel bar food we have had. The ahi tuna stack was almost dinner. The rooms are very comfortable and we found them clean, well equipped and quiet despite the proximity to the airport. San Diego can be pricey for hotel stays and the value locations tend to be tired and poorly place. For that
reason this Courtyard should
be high on your list for value with location. Only needs work comment is the front desk which can be spotty. Our check in persons seemed overwhelmed and/or distracted on several of our visits. That was particularly true this time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We’re glad you found our location and amenities convenient. Our restaurant just recently updated the menu and we are happy you enjoyed the new and exciting food. We aim to please and take all of our guests’ comments seriously. We do our best to keep staff levels appropriate to meet guest needs, but occasionally we do experience higher volume than we anticipated.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here two years ago and had a positive experience. This time was no different. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The pool and outdoor area is outstanding. It's convenient to the airport and just a short walking distance to restaurants and a grocery store. There is also free parking. Love this hotel and its covenientg location. Will definitely stay again. By the way, the beds are very comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We’re delighted you had such a pleasant experience with our hotel. I agree, the beds are super comfy and we have an outstanding location. With the friendly service, airport shuttle, grocery store, restaurants, free parking, and beautiful grounds, what’s not to love?! We’re glad you stayed and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My huband and I stayed at the Courtyard this past week. The staff--front desk, driver, bar tender (Jim), and housekeeping were outstanding. The room was clean and quiet. The location is perfect. Restaurants and shopping nearby. Thank you for a great stay and visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We’re pleased you had a wonderful stay with us. We hire only the best and brightest hospitality stars and we’re proud of our team. Thank you for your comments. We know you have a choice and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard over the weekend. It's close to the Airport and the shuttle service to and from is good. The hotel is situated next to a Homewood Suites (a far better accommodation BTW) and it's a decent property. Check in and check out was fine, the rooms are bare-bones Marriott quality (cheap), the 'business' center with two computers is decent, but the cost for meals and incidentals is high, as expected of a Marriott. The place was packed with families and kids, OK generally, but if you want some peace, quiet and sound sleep avoid a room near the pool or the words 'Marco Polo' will keep playing in your head for days if not weeks. We'd stay again probably, expecting about the same level of quality. After all, it's far better than a Best Western.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We take these very seriously and I must say I’m disappointed that we didn’t meet your standards. We try hard to make sure each guest has an enjoyable experience and it seems we failed in your eyes, for that I apologize. If you have an opportunity to stay with us again please let me know and I will attempt to find a room location that meets your needs.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.