We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for our entire AAA Group !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent choice for our entire AAA Group !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was our group leader (for a group of 30 travelers) from Florida. We needed a convenient hotel to stay at for one night (before our nine-day cruise departed the next day). The front desk staff at this Courtyard was very prepared for our group check-in & we all quickly & effeciently received our room keys upon arrival here. All of the staff made us feel very welcome here & all employees would make eye contact & give a pleasant hello whenever we would pass in the lobby or hallways. The hot breakfast buffet (including a made-to-order omlette station) was excellent. Everyone in our group commented to me how much they enjoyed their stay here. This was certainly a great start to our ten-night West Coast adventure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    219
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
289
209
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our second stay at this Courtyard. We love everything about this hotel: great location, free parking, free in-room internet and no "resort" fees. Our only complaint is the problem that we have had with noise coming from other rooms. During our first stay it was the room next to us with screaming and yelling at children and the second stay the room above us was having a loud party with all the usual yelling and stomping. The front desk did ask the to quiet down, which lasted about five minutes, but there was no follow-up and the party continud until close to midnight. Ask for a top floor room in the adults only section and enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room in the adults only section and enjoy your stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As we frequently stay at Marriott/Courtyard hotels and have always been extremely satisfied with both accommodations and wonderful customer service, we stayed at this hotel for a family weekend 05/17-0519 from DFW. I am sorry to say this property was an exception, and not in a good way. Front desk staff gave impression they really were not at all interested in taking any time to respond to questions or requests, and seemed to be in a rush and not very professional. It did look like they were understaffed most of the weekend and there was a wedding reception on Saturday but really that is no excuse for such poor customer service. Boarding pass computer terminal and a printer were both out of order during our stay, and although we understand this can occur anywhere, it was the rude response received when we inquired about the problem. Also, upon entering our room Friday, we found empty water bottles on the floor of the bathroom behind the wooden towel table...never cleaned from previous guest? Although we were out of our room from early morning to about 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, our room had not been touched...trash full, no clean towels. I did request some from housekeeping staff we saw on our floor at 5:00 p.m.
The bright side: our breakfast server on 05/18 was kind, friendly and caring, as was our shuttle driver who took us to the airport on Sunday morning. San Diego was beautiful, zoo great, where we stayed....not good. Hopefully this was just a bad weekend for the property and our bad luck to be there at that time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times and every time I have been greeted with friendly faces and treated with excellent service. I have taken advantage of the free shuttle that drops you off at the airport, it is very convenient and the drivers are always nice. The manager Rick is an AWESOME guy. And I love love love the bartender, Jim, he makes a MEAN mojito :) Would recommend this Courtyard to anyone and everyone! And with Liberty Station recently acquiring a Stone Brewery, I might just have to pay this Courtyard another visit soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdale, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had an absolute wonderful experience staying at this Courtyard Mariott. We would definitely stay here again and also recommend it to others. The staff were all soooo nice. Terry at the front desk was especially helpful with any questions we had and advice as to where to go and places to eat. Jim at the bar was a delight as well. The housekeeping staff was also wonderful as anywhere you went on the premises was very neat and clean and they were also very friendly.
Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for all your comments! Jim and Terry are wonderful employees and do a great job; glad they were able to help you out. Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep our hotel clean and will be thrilled that you noticed. We are happy your enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel was so nice and clean! We hung out at the pool almost everyday! Very relaxing place, staff was great, good happy hour, and Sandy the shuttle driver was the sweetest woman every!!! Thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
I’m so happy to hear that you thought our hotel was Amazing!! Like you a lot of guests enjoy unwinding by the pool. Glad to see the comments about Sandy, we agree she is a great “first” impression for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight prior to a cruise. Found the room to be very comfortable and well-appointed. The lobby bar was convenient for a glass of wine; friendly bartender and patrons. Low-key and perfect for our stay. The buffet breakfast was good, but not superior to those I have had in other Courtyard properties--and they were included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your insights. The lounge is a great location to relax after a long day of sightseeing. I’m glad you enjoyed breakfast but was disappointed you didn’t feel it was superior to others. We appreciate the feedback and will discuss with our food department on making it better. Doesn’t sound like you were aware but we do have a few rates that include breakfast. Next time you’re here be sure to check on those.

I hope you enjoyed the cruise.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.