We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Even” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Conference Even”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I organized a conference of over 300 professionals from around the world to meet together in San Diego and arranged for many of them to stay at the Courtyard at Liberty Station. It was great. Facility is lovely, location is fantastic, the staff are professional and courteous, the shuttle was dependable, the breakfast is good, the bar is nice, etc....

We had a couple of dinners for groups at the hotel as well (20-125 people) and they were well- prepared, attended to and executed.

In the months leading up to the event, the staff were thorough and patient as we sorted out details and upon the event's closing they followed up and sought feedback.

Our guests that stayed at the Courtyard mentioned how great it was.

We will definitely arrange for our visitors to stay at the Courtyard in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
All our staff work hard to make memories for our guests, they will be happy to hear that they were successful with your group. Thank you for the business and allowing us to partner with you. We look forward to hosting many more.

I also want to thank you so for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate it.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    232
    40
    16
    6
See reviews for
297
218
46
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We only stayed one night as a rest to break up a long trip home to the east coast from Hawaii. We got to the hotel at about 9:30 at night and we hadn't eaten all day. When we got to the hotel restaurant at about 20 minutes before it closed, we had to go back into the kitchen to find any staff to help us. Not a good beginning, but then the staff kicked in gear. The waitress was friendly and made suggestions from the menu. The food was excellent and we didn't feel rushed. The room was huge, beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. Our room faced the airport, but you could not hear any noise. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and surprisingly not that expensive. Freshly made pancakes, waffles, eggs and omelets to order were part of the buffet breakfast. The other surprise were the resort like amenities. Great pool and workout room. Despite being very convenient to the airport, the area is very nice. Two bonuses, the van drivers to and from the airports were extraordinarily friendly, funny and were just great ambassadors for the hotel and the city. This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor overlooking the pool. (836, I think) Great room. You can avoid crowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I’m sorry your stay got off to a rough start but was very happy to read that our staff recovered quickly and make sure you were taken care off. I agree that first and last impressions from our drivers is very important and that we are fortunate to have amazing staff. We share all these comments so they will be excited to read that as well. I hope you have time to visit us again.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great Location, near the airport,very convenient to downtown and everything else. I found a few new restaurants in the area that I did not have an opportunity to explore last trip. Notable mention: Look for the Corvette diner near the hotel it takes you back to the 50's and 60's if you grew up in that era- food is delicious. Jim's margarita at the hotel bar was simply marvelous-great job, Jim! The atmosphere was warm and friendly all around, service top-notch. Had a great stay and would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with harbor and park view-Awesome and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
It’s close to paradise and I’m sure we could find a cheese burger as well.

So glad you had time to explore Liberty Station during your visit. Corvette diner is a pretty cool location and one of the great restaurants in the area. And I don’t know what to say about Jim’s margaritas, we all agree that they and Jim are amazing. Appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and hope you can visit again soon.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel makes it so easy to enjoy going downtown for the night. Our room was great, all the comforts of home. We appreciated the lobby area and outdoor patio. It was very comfortable to sit out and enjoy the perfect San Diego weather (with a sweater).The staff was very courteous, helpful and professional, our breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect. We were close to all downtown and Point Loma have to offer. We will definitely stay in this Courtyard again, might bring the kids next time. I was initially wondering if the airport noise would be an issue...it wasn't, don't remember ever hearing a plane.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Do bring the kids next time we have lots of suggestions for family activities.

Til next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is great and the service was friendly and professional. The beds and pillows are so comfortable, the room was spacious and our view was pretty! My husband and I had a great time. This is obviously a well-run hotel and we will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor up above the lobby and it was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Cathy

We like to make lasting impressions and it seems like we were successful in doing that with you and your husband. We appreciate the kind words and will be sure to share with the staff. Hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love love love this hotel. From the beautiful location, friendly staff, and cozy rooms, to the delicious breakfast buffet....ahhh....it is perfection!
My husband and I live in San Diego and this hotel is our #1 choice for a relaxing Stay-cation. There is so much to do for every mood: take a walk over to Wine Steals, visit Pt. Loma Seafood and get smoked fish and sourdough and have a picnic on the water, hike through Cabrillo National park, or take a quick cab ride downtown to party...the possibilities are endless.
I highly recommend Liberty Station Marriott--I promise you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room overlooking the water. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the five star review. I agree we are fortunate to have an amazing location and love when local’s come to explore. I’ll be sure to share your breakfast comments with the food and beverage staff, they will be excited to know you enjoyed it.

See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ct yrd by Mariott, Liberty Station sets the bar high. Shout out to Stephanie and Travis at the front desk. You guys are oustanding, thnx for the great visit. Your customer service is zero to none.. others need to follow your exampl. Also want to say thank you to the housecleaning staff, Elracema, you are the best young lady. thnx for taking care of me and making sure my room was immaculate every day. thnx again...Ken, Detroit, Michigan

Room Tip: I had a room on the SW side, 3rd floor, overlooking the pool and bay. Beautiful view... thnx Stepha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Kenneth,

Our staff work very hard to make each stay special and I’m glad to see we were successful reaching that goal for you. We share these comments with everyone so Stephanie, Travis and Elracema will get special recognize for their excellent service. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit again.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.