We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but definitely not overly impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice but definitely not overly impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed here earlier this month (November). My extended family and I took a 3 day trip to San Diego and booked 3 rooms. The hotel would be good if you are looking for a reasonably priced business hotel. The rooms are clean and pretty standard as far as rooms go. The front desk staff (most of them) seem to be young girls with little customer service or professional experience. I had multiple conversations with the front desk employees for various reasons and felt that they could have been far more professional and courteous in their dealings. The restaurant is fine for a quick meal. The hotel was fine but nothing fancy or unique. It's basically set at the back of an area of stip mall right next to another standard hotel. It's easy to walk to restaurants in the strip mall but if you are going for vacation, I recommend something closer to downtown. I'm really not sure why the ratings are so high on this place. It's nice but again, it's pretty average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick b, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Greetings from Liberty Station!

I appreciate the straight-forward feedback about your stay with us. Obviously you weren't wowed by the location, the accomodations or service.

I apologize if you found our front desk associates unprofessional and not courteous. We strive to have a more casual and friendly staff that are very well trained. Most feedback that we get feel just the opposite of you, but it's clear that we failed to provide the correct level of service and our front desk staff has reviewed your comments.

Courtyard by Marriott is actually designed to be a reasonably priced hotel built with the business traveler in mind. We are not a resort or a large full service hotel that offers a lot more ammenities...thats' how we can keep our room rates much lower.

It sounds like you had a different setting in mind, maybe closer to the downtown area? A lot of folks like the fact that we are away from theses busy areas...and also our free and plentiful parking is a huge benefit.

In closing, it sounds like you didn't get much opportunity to explore Liberty Station while you were here. There are 350+ acres of parks, historical buildings, walking paths, eateries, golf, and much, much more. I don't think catergorizing us as being next to a strip mall defines us totally. Directly on the other side of the hotel is 45 acre waterfront park.

Thanks, and all the very best.

Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    209
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
276
204
44
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We travel every year to Southern California for a family trip, and I saw all the great reviews on Trip Advisor for this hotel, and decided to give them a try. SO GLAD I DID! From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out..it was great. The property is so clean, fresh and new. The pool is wonderful..the bar is great. Breakfast in the morning is perfect. The waitress even remembered after the first day there I like ice in my orange juice. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, and it was the biggest suite for our money we have ever gotten. We WILL be staying here again. I was a little concerned about being so close to the airport, but once we were inside our room, I didn't hear a single airplane. Well done..thank you Marriott Airport/Liberty Station!

Room Tip: Suites are great. I don't know what else to say that I haven't already said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night when we had a 24 hour layover in San Diego. The property and rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, attentive and responsive and you can't beat the freebies like complimentary wi-fi. However, travelers are at a great disadvantage staying at this hotel unless they have their own transportation. There are restaurants within walking distance (nothing spectacular) but no direct access to local attractions unless you take a taxi. There was a shuttle to the Trolley tour from Homewood Suites next door but it only had one scheduled pick-up and return each day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed two nights as a stop-over to break up a Maui to Chicago travel. Had a one bedroom suite, which was a really nice space - lots of room (a little pricy at $200 plus taxes), and very comfortable.

We had a flight that arrived around 10:30 pm. We called the hotel for the free shuttle and it was there in less than 10 minutes - nice service.

Breakfast was good. You can order from the menu or the buffet. We had the cold buffet, which was fine - nothing special, but adequate ($10.50). Service was friendly and attentive.

On Friday we took a taxi to Old Town San Diego to catch the Coaster commuter train to Oceanside. The train ride was smooth and enjoyable. Spent several hours walking the pier and beachfront sidewalks, had a nice oceanfront lunch and then the return train. Carlsbad Village also looked like it would be a nice shopping stop. Coaster was $11.00 round trip ($5.50 seniors). Taxi from Courtyard to Old Town was $13.00, but the return driver took a route past the airport for $21.50!

Overall a nice hotel, with friendly staff in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here with the family on a Zoo/Sea World getaway. The location is at the same place I went to boot camp in the 1980's and was amazed at how much this location has changed over the years. The hotel sits on a water inlet from San Diego Bay and offers some serene water views and open spaces adjacent to the hotel. The hotel is updated and fresh with plenty of outdoor seating for drinking, talking and enjoying the views. We had the 2 queen bed/water view room and it was spacious and modern. The only gripe was that nearly all of the view rooms overlook the pool. So noise and nighttime pool shenanigans kept us up a bit. You also are in very close proximity to the airport and hear jets taking off, but nothing too obstrusive. Another bonus is that adjacent to the property there are many good restaurants within walking distance. Morning breakfast at the hotel was very good and a good value. I would definitely stay here again for the convenience and price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We held a two day customer training event at this facility. The banquet staff and food quality was on par with other hotels we've used in the 4 star category. The hotel is well appointed and the location is lovely overlooking the naval canal. Sleeping rooms are comfy and super clean. It was an outstanding facility for our meeting and we will return again. I recommend this hotel highly for all of your most important meetings and events. A+!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONOLULU
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I reserved 2 queen beds. We arrived at 11 pm, exhausted. They put us in a 1 king bed with a sofa bed. The sofa bed was so uncomfortable, 4 of us tried to sleep on the King bed. We tried to change rooms, but they had no 2 queen bed rooms available. They overbooked and gave away our 2 queen beds. Horrible night's sleep. I told the front desk and she gave me a look like "I honestly don't care." She had me pay the full price and offered no discount for not providing us the room we were promised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.