We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly staff, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #21 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly staff, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were very satisfied with our recent stay in this Courtyard by Marriott. The grounds are beautiful: nice walking paths just outside the hotel gates; a community park very close with lots of activity but not a disturbance. No traffic noise at all!! We were close to the airport but no real air traffic noise to speak of either. The view from our room was gorgeous -- had a top floor, water view room. Our stay was during the middle of the week and the hotel was very busy with other activities (business-type meetings), but none of this interfered with our privacy or pleasure. Housekeeping staff was efficient, quiet and timely. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room price was very affordable. The hotel was convenient to everywhere we wanted to go -- we're from Texas so a little drive to get somewhere is never an issue for us. Hotel parking was free so that was a bonus. Room had a mini-fridge and a microwave which was also a plus. Three things I took issue with: 1) we got a king guest room with sofa bed so that we would have more "floor space" during the day as our adult (20 year old) son was traveling with us -- the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable; 2) bar drinks were outrageous -- $12 for a frozen margarita during happy hour!! 3) the hotel had a "pantry" where guests could purchase snacks, cold drinks, miscellaneous items, etc. -- the prices were extremely inflated, even when considering an up-charge for convenience. Even in view of these items, overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego who wants a good hotel at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Top floor, water view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    245
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
306
229
47
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for 3 nights. We paid for the the package with breakfast at the hotel. Had upgraded to a water view, third floor, Sunrise was lovely every morning. It overlooked the pool, but at this time of year it was never too loud. Staff was very nice. Waitress at breakfast also was very friendly. We had the buffet each morning, fresh fruit, omelets, salmon. Lots of trendy new restaurants opening in LIberty Station, we ate out every evening. Location was central to every place we went, Balboa Park, Old Town San Diego, La Jolla Cove. As others stated, walls were a little thin, but nothing we couldn't manage. Fairly new hotel so everything was shiny and new. Coffee in the lobby and flavored waters all day was a nice plus too. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Balconies on 3rd floor are small, but better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I was traveling with my elderly mother and she was in a wheelchair which made many things difficult for me. My husband had phoned ahead for a reservation and had booked us a room with a balcony. We were put in a nice room with no balcony/view. I went back to desk & staff was cooperative but didn't move us until a manager stepped in. He took me to check out the room then helped move us himself. The new room had a great balcony that I could get my mother out onto. View was beautiful. Room clean & spacious. Buffet very good and not too pricey compared to other hotel buffets. Waitress went out of her way to assist my mother. Front desk staff was polite but not as accommodating or friendly as the manager and wait staff. Airport shuttle. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Every year for the past 12 years, I have gone to San Diego for a family vacation -- for the last three years we have stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott at Liberty Station. It is new - I think only 4 years old - and part of a fantastic new development at the old Liberty Station Navel Base. It is in a beautiful and relaxing location right on the water next door to a gorgeous huge park with lots of greenspace, play structures, and running, walking and bike paths. The rooms are large with a mini refrigerator and microwave -- many with water views. The pool is smallish but very nice and there is a restaurant and bar with quite good food. Nearby are great restaurants (the Corvette Diner is fun for kids) and a new Trader Joes and Vons market. After a day at Sea World or the Zoo, it is so nice to stroll along the water and enjoy the quiet!

The staff are also very nice and accommodating -- we had a king room with a pullout couch -- and they have Paul Mitchell hair products and lotions! -- and coffeemakers in each room. It only takes 10 minutes to get to Sea World on Nimitz Blvd.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is in a ice location. It's close to the ocean (you can see the bay from hotel window) Rooms are comfortable, nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was excellent and the bartender at night was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This would have been a five star review but for the airport noise and being able to hear people walking around in the room above. Having said that, I would not hesitate to stay there again. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is very convenient to all of the sites and you don't have to pay for parking like in downtown hotels. The Kuerig coffee makers in the rooms were a welcome surprise. Hopefully more hotels will replace their dreadful in room coffee makers with these. The park behind the hotel was wonderful for walks and it has a great play area for kids. I would definetly reccomended this Courtyard to anyone visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: A top floor room with a balcony would have made my stay even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

For the first time...in a long time..the restaurant food was very good! The hotel staff from the maid service to the driver (for airport p/u) were ALL so very kind and polite.

I highly recommend whenever you're traveling and staying in San Diego....go to the Courtyard by Marriott (Liberty Station).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Business Hotel in San Diego
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.