We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop

Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop
1810 W. Washingon Street, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 296-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Omg........burritos are huge and so good. Surf and turf taco was awesome, steak and shrimp yum! Also large serving. Long lines at times, but don't worry lines go by fast, and enjoy the chips and salsa,All of the salsa was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    81
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a long flight, and we were starving! Luckily it wasn't too crazy busy when we went. The decor was really unique, and my husband still talks about the surf and turf burrito he had. My nachos were scrumptious! I rated it 4 stars because the table were dirty and it just seemed messy. Worth the trip, though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reserve the Champions Booth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop in San Diego. Super close to the airport and rental cars. Enjoyed the surf n turf and mahi mahi burritos. Table service, real plates, salsas in a golden salsa holder... get the booth!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant because it has a good reputation in San Diego. Food is fine...do not come on a weekend..wait will be long. Good place to visit if you are very hungry...my husband ordered the surf and turf burrito it was huge!..It has grilled steak, shrimp, avocado, and chipotle sauce. I had the classic california burrito..it has fries, sour cream, cheese, and choice of protein..I did not want meat so it was more of a veggie burrito. Their TJ corn is delicious it has mayo, chili powder, and lime. Ambiance is interesting...you feel like you are in a Mexican wrestling match.. Location is fine..very close to Little Italy. I rated this as an average restaurant because of the wait and because seating is very limited...good luck finding a place to sit down. Food is fine though..take out is a better idea..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a very cool place with a great theme. I have to be honest though, this place is running on reputation and popularity more so than delicious food. That isn't completely a bad thing but it is why I rated 4/5 instead. The atmosphere is awesome, the employees seem very happy with their job and in general were extremely nice. The restaurant also has a cool wrestling theme. They have an awesome beer selection and a bar next door. I got the California Surf n' Turf burrito which was pretty good and I also got a chicken taco to go. The burrito was really good and different with the added french fries but the chicken taco didn't quite hit the as the tortilla was a soft corn and I would have preferred a hard shell taco. I loved the selection or salsa but I was pretty disappointed with the home made chips, they werent warm and tasted a bit stale.

All in all this is worth a visit cause it was featured on the Food Network and has pretty good food and a cool theme.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop also viewed

 

Been to Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.