We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burritos at a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop

Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop
1810 W. Washingon Street, San Diego, CA 92103
(619) 296-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Green River, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Burritos at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We tried three times to go to the restaurant based on the recommendation of a friend. First time was too busy, second time was on New Years Day and they were closed, but the third time we got in with a little wait in line. The burritos were great for a price that surprised me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    81
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want lost of food, and cheap prices , this is the place to go. The burrito was as bag around as a large fist! Too much for me, but my son loves it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Taco Shop in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

get the Surf and Turf burrito. it is heaven wrapped in a tortilla!! we have been going here for years and it just keeps getting better. it's a "must stop" place when we visit San Diego.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food lives up to the hype.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Quirky cool very good food. I've wanted to stop in here on my last three or four San Diego trips, based on all the reviews I've read. Finally made it. It was definitely worth it. I'll be back. Small place. We waited ten or fifteen minutes in line to place our order, and the line wasn't very long at about 1pm. Cashier appeared drugged and hadn't washed his hair in days, it seemed. So there's room for improvement. But the food was awesome and plentiful. My wife had a seafood burrito. I had a vegetarian. Both were amazing. One offputting moment was once I had placed my order, the cashier swung the register pad to me and mumbled something about selecting my tip. I punched 18%, not really knowing how it worked and never having been here before. They do zero to earn a tip. They call your name, and you get up to get your own food and bring it to your table. Tables don't appear to get washed between customers. So that is what it is, but the food is great. I'll be back. I'll just tip a little less.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make this your first stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

After being on a plane all morning, and being referred by a car rental agent, I decided to try Lucha Libre. Just minutes from the airport, this place has great, inexpensive food. I ordered a surf n turf taco, (shrimp and steak), and a fish taco (mahi mahi), with rice and beans, with complimentary chips and a better salsa bar than I,ve ever found back east. The tacos are great, the staff very friendly, and prices are low. Very highly recomended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop also viewed

 

Been to Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.