We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates starting from $159
Ranked #72 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is just south of the San Diego Convention Center and on the same side of the street, adjacent to the bay. The layout is sort of odd - driving or walking up to the lobby from the street, but the hotel is new constructed and well appointed, with a spacious open lobby and a nice lobby bar (although the service there was spotty). The restaurant has good choices for lunch, although at this location there are tons of non-hotel places to eat in the nearby Gaslamp District. The main dining restaurant is primarily seafood and sushi. The main thing about this hotel is the tremendous amount of meeting space for small and large groups.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy you enjoyed our location in downtown San Diego and the variety of our meeting spaces. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    1,049
    399
    137
    55
See reviews for
565
603
116
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

San Diego has always been beautiful to me. Going for visits now, I want to capture the epitome of Southern California/San Diego. There is no place better than the Hilton Bayfront! We had the corner room and the view was amazing! Friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Welcome back home!!! We are thrilled you choose to stay with us when you come back to visit. We will share your review with our staff and look forward to welcoming you back again next time. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa monica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a corner room high up and had a wonderful almost panoramic view of the bay and down town which we loved. The breakfast buffet was great and we got a 10.00 per person discount included as gold members which was great. Loved the food but there was only one omelet maker so if you were in a hurry not the place to brunch! We took our bikes so it was handy to get right on the bike path with is outside the door and explore. We took the ferry to Coronado and continued a great day of biking, beach and relaxation.
Bed and shower/tub were great, only thing I did not like was paying $30.00 per day to park. You did not have to pay the $3.50 per water bottle charge, if you walked downstairs and asked for free water bottles from the concierge ! This hotels location is great if you have to be next door to the convention center, or are good walkers it not far from the gas lamp district! We enjoyed our week end. Just note the hotel is at the end of the strand next door to the convention center.

Room Tip: Hi floor with a view of the bay. There are some rooms with poor views. If you are a gold member wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay! We are happy you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and experienced what our location has to offer. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This Hotel is a first class operation. Great location on the bay. Very Modern, and many choices of restaurants. Night life is walking distance from the hotel. Excellent choice. The staff were very helpful and well informed about the happenings on property and nearby. I will make it a point to return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful 5 star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel views and location. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for business in late 2012, and enjoyed it quite a bit. When my wife and I decided to do a quick 3-day weekend getaway to San Diego I booked a room at the Hilton again. I spent a few extra bucks ($50/night) for a corner room. My previous standard room had decent views but I wanted a little more. We arrived and valet parked ($45/night). A little pricy but this is prime real estate, and our other option was to take the Amtrak and then the trolley, which worked out to be about the same price vs paying to park. We drove on a whim to Point Loma Saturday so having a car with in and out privileges was a plus for this trip.

We got a corner room on the 18th floor, on the southwest side, so we could look down on the pool, the Dole ship operations, and have a 180-degree view of the Coronado bridge, Coronado, Point Loma, and some of the city. The room was clean, modern, and had all we needed, although the little coffee machine wasn't up to snuff, so one of us went down to wait in line at Starbucks each morning. Also, the wi-fi, maybe because it was a corner room, was spotty ($25 for two days, and we could access it from all our devices).

Day one we walked the 10 minutes or so to the Gas Lamp Trolley stop, bought a Compass card (trolley pass) and took the trolley to Old Town.

We came back, changed, and walked from the hotel to the water ferry ($18 or so for both of us if I remember right, and a 5 minute walk) across to Coronado for happy hour. This hotel, like many in the same vicinity, has nice access to public transport and to Gaslamp district.

We had a drink by the Hilton pool at the lounge, to watch the sunset.

The next day, we went down to have the breakfast buffet around 9am below the lobby, at Vela, and while the wait was only 15 minutes, we wanted to get to the USS Midway as it opened, so we trekked towards the trolley, and had breakfast at a place near the trolley stop (review being written next).

Let me get to the friendly part. Everyone we met, whether it was Tiffany at Fox Sports Grill, who happily gave us advice on Old Town, to the front desk, to the bell hop (wish I remembered his name), to the valet, this was over-the-top friendly.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a corner room, or a room in the 19-30 floor range
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great review! We are thrilled you came back and enjoyed your time with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel in a great location - easy walking distance to Gaslamp district and seaport village and only ten minutes from the zoo. Very clean and spacious rooms with good views, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! See you the next time you are in downtown San Diego! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton Bayfront a number of times. This time was a little bit disappointing. The customer service overall was lacking. I'm not sure if this was due to the fact we were staying over the July 4th, but you would think if you are nearing capacity you would have the staff on hand to deal with it. We spent quite a bit of money this time as we checked in on Wednesday and left on Monday over the 4th and I expected the high level of service usually provided - not this time.
I will say our room faced the convention center and the fireworks view was spectacular.
The pool was incredibly crowded too - which made people crabby they couldn't find seating -- it's not a big pool area.
Pro's -- a lovely, well-maintained hotel, close to the gaslamp, right next to the convention center
Con's -- customer service this time was severely lacking

Two individuals did brighten up the customer service experience: Yvonne out at the pool.. AND, Brian at Vela during the Breakfast Buffet

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.