We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for our Anniversary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #68 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing for our Anniversary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

As a Hilton Honors member we love staying at Hilton hotels. I made a reservation at the hotel booking one of their King corner unit rooms to ensure we would have a great room with a great view. When making the reservation I specifically let the hotel know that we would be celebrating our anniversary even going as far as to ask if there was anything that could be done to make our anniversary just that much more special. Also when making the reservation I requested a room on a high floor- this is also noted on our Hilton Honor's membership.

Before arriving no one called to inquire about our anniversary. When we checked in the front desk noted it was our anniversary so I figured it would be acknowledged. Wrong. The hotel placed us in a room on the 8th floor- out of 30. So much for a high floor. What was worse was our room was directly over the Dole shipyard where the Dole ship docks and then hundreds of trucks line up to have a crane drop a giant metal container on the truck. This provided for a less than desirable view and a noisy wake up Sunday morning. Ultimately no one acknowledged our anniversary- in fact no one even came for turn down service- a standard at any hotel of this caliber.

While the hotel itself is beautiful and in a wonderful location the service was disappointing. We wont be returning to this hotel to celebrate our anniversary next year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    965
    368
    130
    48
See reviews for
534
565
109
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton started on the wrong foot: our room wasn't available because it wasn't clean. They promised to upgrade us to a better room but we had to wait between 30/45 minutes.
90 minutes later we still had no room... After we started to complain at the reception desk a room became available as if by miracle. And a complimentary buffet breakfast too!
The hotel location is perfect for anyone attending an event at the Convention Center, but if you pick one of the rooms facing the Coronado bridge the only view you get is the Dole packing plant or the railway. But not everything is bad: the hotel is modern, elegant, clean, and is within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter. Overall, an average business hotel in a great city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First, I will be writing a complete review of the Hilton, up until ten minutes ago we were very happy, so we are going to write about the bar experience and save the rest for after we leave tomorrow. We stayed here for the Fourth of July. We went to the Odysea at 7:00 pm and were told to sit wherever. It looks great, very trendy. We waited ten minutes, nothing. My husband went to the bar and asked if we were to order dinner and bottle of wine at bar. They said no, they would come to our table. Another fifteen minutes, nothing. There were two female waitresses having a great conversation with just the two of them, no worries at all about customer service. We decided to leave. As we walked out I told them very nicely that since they were so busy, we would just go to our room and order room service. I got the blankest look from the two of them, very weird. Don't waste your time going there, they weren't even very busy and couldn't get to us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for your 4th of July holiday weekend. I am so disappointed to hear that you had a great visit until you visited Odysea, where the lack of efficient service changed your entire experience. I am sincerely sorry that you did not receive the quick and friendly service that you deserved while visiting. At no time do I want any of our guests to feel frustrated or upset during their stay. I would like to discuss your visit in further detail so we can rectify this situation. Can you please email me directly at katie.ellison@hilton.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Super location overlooking San Diego Bay, Coronado and our United States Navy aircraft carrier assets. Walking distance to the Coronado ferry (think Del Coronado Hotel) and the Gas Lamp district. Nice comfy, modern rooms and great overall facilities.

Needs work with staff that don't want to keep the property properly cleaned. Hard to get service at the cool pool side spots and tables and public facilities usually left un-clean. Noticed managers walking by many times, but total failure to deliver reasonable level of service. Hey - it's not that hard. Choose real managers and stop social promotion!

Will probably try a different spot next time as we are looking for more.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the Bay or Coronado bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Hard to get a chair at the pool. No refrigerator or microwave in room. Gaslamp Quarter and Seaport Village were withinin walking distance but underwhelming. A beautiful hotel but wierdly located next to Dole packing plant.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You'd never know that this is a convention center hotel. Sleek, elegant, bright and airy - very slick and polished. Swanky and hip, yet a very functional business & meeting hotel - all right on the bay and Embarcadero. Great service and staff. Limited menu at Odysea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for choosing to visit us on your recent San Diego getaway. I am delighted to know that you loved the modern and sophisticated aesthetic of the hotel and that you appreciated our wonderful location on the bay within walking distance to all the best San Diego has to offer. I am excited to learn that you received impeccable service throughout your stay and that all the staff you encountered was friendly and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fantastic service, fantastic hotel, fantastic location and fantastic city.
I had a great room with two queen sinze beeds. I slept like a princess and had the perfect view to wake up to. The breakfast restaurant was just great, and the chief made the best omelets. The location was just perfect, in walking distance from city. The service was also great and Ioved the SPA facilities. I`m looking forward to come back sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax in your spacious and comfortable guest room. I am pleased to know that you received impeccable service throughout your visit and that you loved our convenient location on the bay and within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter with some of the best shopping, restaurants, and entertainment in San Diego. I am happy to learn that you will definitely be back to visit us in the near future. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.