We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very pretty inside and it's less than a half mile from all the fun of downtown. But I think there are better deals for the money. The rooms are tiny. They give you two towels per room (inconvenient). The wedge salad in the bar was ok but for $15 I thought it would have been better. I waited in line to ask the concierge about steakhouses, then noticed a tiny sign saying they were out for the night and to see the front desk. The front desk didn't know where any restaurants that served prime rib and handed me a map with names of restaurants (with no phone numbers or addresses) Which was not very helpful. When I asked the front desk where my event was for the next morning he said "they don't tell us what rooms are assigned to what until 5am the morning of" this was a college graduation. How do you not know?! Overall not bad. But I think I will find elsewhere for our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateckent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It had been 26 years since my last visit to San Diego ! ...( I live in Northern Ireland ).... this was my 1st time staying at a Hilton Hotel .... it was just super .
Location was wonderful , at the edge of the marina and beside Petco Park and at the mouth of the Gas Lamp district , which meant that i was able to walk to most places that i wished to visit on my week long stay with my 12yr old daughter... only needed to use taxi's for Sea World & the Zoo !. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful , the hotel rooms were lovely and we had a view of the marina - which was just amazing . We ate in the Fox Grill bar on a few occasions and in the hotel restaurant too .... also the starbucks just outside the hotel door for breakfast too - all were very nice . I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking a great hotel and location for downtown San Diego visits. Wish i didnt live so far away - but hope one day to have a return visit - as i had a great time here . Thanks for making my visit so special Hilton Bayfront <3
!

Room Tip: I would recommend the marina view of the hotel - especially if your staying for a week or more .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyReid999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us of all the options here in San Diego. I am glad that you had such a great visit traveling all the way from Ireland and that you and your daughter had such a memorable experience. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the variety of dining options we have available for guests and that you appreciated our convenient location on the bay and within minutes of all the best San Diego has to offer. I do hope you are able to come back and visit us again soon. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Hilton Bayfront is on the water -- beautiful views from rooms, restaurants, bars, and pool. The lobby and all internal spaces are comfortable and easily accessible. The gym and spa are lovely and well maintained. For a high rise hotel of over 30 floors, the elevators run magnificently! At the height of a convention of 4,000 people, we never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator, and often much less. The only drawback to the hotel is the rooms themselves. They are clean and functional, but if you're inclined to take pictures, they will be of the lobby, the boardwalk just outside, and the view from the room not in the room. Great place for business and/or pleasure. Very child friendly, as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solonotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arriving at the Hilton was such a pleasure. The hotel is on the edge of the downtown core but with a overpass, walking to events and restaurants is easy. The room was well appointed and extremely clean. We had a ocean view on the corner and I could sit on the chaise and just watch ships. The small causal restaurant wasn't great, pizza wasn't tasty. There is is Starbucks for your morning coffee in the hotel. Matt made our visit totally flawless and he made us feel like his only customer. Hats off to you Matt.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the ocean view , isn't that the reason you are in San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were extremely relaxed during your visit. I am happy to know that you loved our location situated on the bay and within walking distance to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am delighted to hear that you loved your spacious guest room with beautiful views of the bay and downtown. I am so happy to learn how wonderful Matt was during your visit. I will be sure to give him special recognition for his outstanding customer service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Room is nice, however the amenities are too pricey. $12.95 for in-room Internet, but free in the lobby - horrible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Had a terrible meal at the Fox Sports Grill. Manager was kind enough to take some of the bill, but damage was already done. Also, service was fair. View of the harbor was great! Walk to Petco Park was a breeze. I think we'll try the Omni if we return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall this hotel is amazing. It has a great view of the bay and Petco park and the downtown area of San Diego. The rooms were very nice and had super soft beds. We like that it was with in walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter and nice varied price resturarnt choices. Conference center was great and right next to the Convention center with a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the hotel. I am happy to hear that you appreciated our convenient location just steps from the convention center and just a short walk to Petco Park and the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you come back to see us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 7 glorious nights at the Hilton, Bayfront. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Very family friendly. The staff were above and beyond helpful, friendly and welcoming. The pool and fitness center were awesome. Beautiful landscaping and views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I’m glad to hear you and your family had such a memorable vacation here with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for your week long getaway. I am happy to hear that you loved the hotel, the views, and our brand new pool and poolside oasis, The Pool Club! Thank you for your feedback and I hope you and your family come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,755 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing