We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful life right outside your door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #64 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful life right outside your door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Hilton Bayfront is on the water -- beautiful views from rooms, restaurants, bars, and pool. The lobby and all internal spaces are comfortable and easily accessible. The gym and spa are lovely and well maintained. For a high rise hotel of over 30 floors, the elevators run magnificently! At the height of a convention of 4,000 people, we never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator, and often much less. The only drawback to the hotel is the rooms themselves. They are clean and functional, but if you're inclined to take pictures, they will be of the lobby, the boardwalk just outside, and the view from the room not in the room. Great place for business and/or pleasure. Very child friendly, as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    945
    755
    279
    102
    44
See reviews for
413
464
94
903
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Arriving at the Hilton was such a pleasure. The hotel is on the edge of the downtown core but with a overpass, walking to events and restaurants is easy. The room was well appointed and extremely clean. We had a ocean view on the corner and I could sit on the chaise and just watch ships. The small causal restaurant wasn't great, pizza wasn't tasty. There is is Starbucks for your morning coffee in the hotel. Matt made our visit totally flawless and he made us feel like his only customer. Hats off to you Matt.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for the ocean view , isn't that the reason you are in San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were extremely relaxed during your visit. I am happy to know that you loved our location situated on the bay and within walking distance to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am delighted to hear that you loved your spacious guest room with beautiful views of the bay and downtown. I am so happy to learn how wonderful Matt was during your visit. I will be sure to give him special recognition for his outstanding customer service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Room is nice, however the amenities are too pricey. $12.95 for in-room Internet, but free in the lobby - horrible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Had a terrible meal at the Fox Sports Grill. Manager was kind enough to take some of the bill, but damage was already done. Also, service was fair. View of the harbor was great! Walk to Petco Park was a breeze. I think we'll try the Omni if we return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall this hotel is amazing. It has a great view of the bay and Petco park and the downtown area of San Diego. The rooms were very nice and had super soft beds. We like that it was with in walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter and nice varied price resturarnt choices. Conference center was great and right next to the Convention center with a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the hotel. I am happy to hear that you appreciated our convenient location just steps from the convention center and just a short walk to Petco Park and the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your feedback and I hope you come back to see us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 7 glorious nights at the Hilton, Bayfront. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. Very family friendly. The staff were above and beyond helpful, friendly and welcoming. The pool and fitness center were awesome. Beautiful landscaping and views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I’m glad to hear you and your family had such a memorable vacation here with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing to stay with us for your week long getaway. I am happy to hear that you loved the hotel, the views, and our brand new pool and poolside oasis, The Pool Club! Thank you for your feedback and I hope you and your family come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo, ON
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton May 7-12, 2013.

This hotel meets the typical Hilton standards, clean, modern, good restaurants on site.
Our bed was very comfortable. Wireless and breakfast were free - with Hilton's Honours membership. Room was very good, some toiletries were different than other Hiltons (did not get shower gel). Love the product line they use. Views of the marina and shoreline are terrific.

Our room was near the elevators and we didn't hear them!

Improvements would be to add a bar fridge and bath robes.

Starbucks is onsite. Buffet breakfast at restaurant was excellent. Very close to conference centre and other conference venues. Also close to Gaslamp district.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floors get better rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good - they try to conserve waste through their products and laundry practices.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hubby was attending a conference at the convention center. I initially booked at a 2 1/2 or 3 star hotel at a much higher price and was 0.5 m away from the Conv Ctr. When I saw their price, I was really amazed considering their proximity to the Ctr. Marriot n Manchester were highly priced and were fully booked! Just cross d road and ur at the Ctr. Luckily, that's d side nearest to whr the AORN conference was. The CSR advised me not to use the bridge that connect u on d other side to go to Gaslamp area as it was not safe. I did it anyway. The blocks r short n I reached Horton Plaza in no tym. Lotsa restaurants and shops on the way. Wish they have free wifi but just go to Starbucks on d ground flr n get connected. U can walk all d way to seaport village n find more restaurants n shop for ur souvenirs. Just be careful coz I saw undomiciled ppl nearby but seemed harmless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you loved the hotel and that you were able to join your husband for a little getaway. I am happy to know that you appreciated our convenient location on the bay and just a short walk to the convention center, Petco Park, and the Gaslamp Quarter with a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests and we hope to see you and your hubby again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.