We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location, nice views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #69 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location, nice views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In San Diego for a long weekend. The Hilton Bayfront is a short walk to popular GasLamp district. Our room was up high, and had great view of the bay--suspect all rooms at the Bayfront would be decent. Enjoyed restaurants, Starbucks, and Fox Sports Grill on the property.

Room Tip: We paid extra to have a view--not sure that was necessary, as rooms on both sides of hotel appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your long weekend getaway. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and loved the beautiful views of the bay and downtown. I am happy to know that you appreciated our convenient location just a short walk to the trendy downtown Gaslamp Quarter with a variety of shops, restaurants, and nightlife. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food at all our dining options here on property. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    930
    357
    126
    47
See reviews for
506
545
105
1,161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A welcoming staff and a very comfortable room. Although the room doesn't have a magnifying mirror, one appeared within minutes of a request. Excellent restaurant, Vela, in hotel. A frozen yogurt place on the grounds, a Starbucks, and easy access to the convention center. Beautiful pool, although in November the poolside service was not available. The Dole offloading of a ship was fascinating to watch, and then the next day, returning the empty boxcars to the ship.

Room Tip: No need to pay the additional $30. The view of the Dole site was interesting and also gave a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff accommodating and courteous throughout your visit. I am pleased to know that you appreciated the variety of dining options we offer our guests and that you were pleased with our convenient location within walking distance to the convention center, Petco Park, and the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am happy to know that you found the Dole cargo area so interesting and that you enjoyed watching the process and learning how we receive all our delicious fruit here in San Diego. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoonah, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Bayfront for 5 nights. Beautiful hotel. Our view of the Dole industrial park was less than expected.... But I'm sure if we had opted to pay the additional $30 a night our view may have improved. Everything at this hotel is super expensive. The staff was great and the room was immaculate and kept that wAy during the stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were impressed with the aesthetic of the property. I am pleased to hear that all the staff you encountered was friendly and accommodating and that you found your guestroom clean and inviting. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent one night here visiting friends who were attending a conference. Impressions:

- very convenient to the convention center - just a short walk across the street.
- the GasLamp district is also a short walk away.
- solid, well trained staff. Lines never lasted long during check-in and check-out and they take the time to step out from behind the counter to direct you to the elevators.
- if you are on an upper floor, there are awesome views of the Bay, even if you are on the side of the hotel with the Dole Foods shipping terminal, as long as you are on an upper floor.
- we were on the top floor, and there was a corporate event in one of their meeting rooms on that floor, and it was very loud from 8 to 10 PM, so if you plan to hit the hay early, make sure you are away from the elevator lobby area.
- our room was very clean and comfortable.
- we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to San Diego. I am pleased to know that you loved our convenient location situated directly next to the convention center and just a short walk to the Gaslamp Quarter with a variety of shops and restaurants. I am ecstatic to learn that you found the staff efficient and courteous throughout your stay and that you were impressed with your clean and comfortable guestroom. I am so happy to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was very pleased with the hotel. I went for the professional conference. It is located at the shoreline. I liked the pool, it's facing the ocean, but I didn' t like the view of the warehouses for ships or whatever it was. We had a wonderful time, the reception was outside in front of hotel. The hotel has a nice spa with the steam room. The view from the room was very nice.

Room Tip: I guess, you have to pay a little bit more for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us. I am delighted to hear how much you loved your stay and that you were impressed with our location situated right on the bay boasting beautiful views of Coronado Island. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our Spa Aquazul and that you were able to relax in the steam room during your stay. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a 2 night weekend stay here and very much a convention driven hotel. Nothing wrong with that, just wanted to mention that to lay the basis of the overall feel of the hotel/lobby areas.

The location can be good and bad, depending on your needs. It's on a newer end of the bayfront and the grounds are nicely done. About the only thing it's really close to is Petco Park and the convention center (depending where you need to enter the convention center at). It does take about 15 minutes to walk to the entrance of the gaslamp district from your room. There are some hotels in the gaslamp district if you'd rather be in the midst of everything. It also seems like there's "more" going on outside of the hotel further down the bayfront where the Marriott Marquis and Hyatt are. Something to keep in mind, but if there strictly for a convention at the hotel, going to Petco Park, or the convention center, one would be fine.

The parking garage was a really short walk from the hotel and at peak times, it'd be quicker self parking than trying to valet. The lobby does get quite crowded when there's a convention and the check in/out lines do get long FYI. Front desk service was so/so, nothing great, nothing bad.

The elevators were all pretty quick and hardly ever a wait. I had a basic room with two beds, and it did feel kinda small. I know downtown hotels generally have limited space and land is at a premium, but for being a fairly new hotel, I figured the rooms would actually be a little bit larger. With 3 of us in the room, it almost felt like we were running into each other. A/C works fine and so does the water pressure and temperature. One odd thing I noticed is that after taking a hot shower and opening the bathroom door, the room instantly became humid and warmer.. Haven't ever noticed that at other properties.

The pool area seemed pretty cool, and was a busy place. Didn't get a chance to go in any of the bars/restaurants on property. However I did have breakfast at Vela and everything was fine there.

All in all, not a bad hotel, but nothing really memorable either. Thumbs up for the Hilton being a new downtown hotel and having a nice modern look to it. If only the rooms were a little larger and service a little more personable, it'd have been great. If room size is important, it's probably worth upgrading or reserving one of the corner rooms as they are a little bit larger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated that it was a quick walk to Petco Park and the convention center. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the modern aesthetic of the property and that you liked the views of the bay directly from your room. I am delighted that you were happy with the close proximity of the parking garage to the hotel and that it made it convenient to get your car when needed. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your breakfast at Vela and that you found the food appetizing. Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with our future guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy both the bay and the gaslight district of San Diego. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Bar has great views w outdoor area to enjoy.putdoor lap pool was a plus. Very pleasant stay overall!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am pleased to know that you loved our convenient location situated on the bay and just a short walk to the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, and the convention center. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable guestroom and loved our outdoor patio at Odysea Lounge overlooking the bay with a views stunning view of Coronado Island. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.