We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, great staff but over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates starting from $159
Ranked #71 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, great staff but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice Hilton. Lobby is lovely and there are several places to eat on the premises, including a fitness room and room service. The room was nice enough but for the price it was a little worn and there was no mini fridge which should be standard for the price they charge. Plus they charged for parking which made the room seem even more drab. I would stay there again but I think I'd look at some of the other hotels first, and there are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego. I am happy to hear that you were impressed with the hotel’s modern aesthetic as well as the many different dining options we offer on property. I sincerely apologize that the parking fees were more than you would have liked but our covered parking garage does offer our guests safety and convenience at a price comparable to other parking facilities and hotels in the downtown area. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    1,050
    399
    138
    55
See reviews for
565
603
116
1,303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 1 week at the Bayfront Hilton and had a great time. The Service was wonderful and the spa was a treat. We had two small dogs and they were very accommodating. The walk along the marina and seaport village was a great way to start the day. We found ourselves exercising a lot because of the location. So close to everything we needed for entertainment and food choices. Love this Hilton

Room Tip: Get a west facing bay view and above the 10th floor and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review. I am pleased to know that you and your furry family members enjoyed the hotel and that you all felt very welcome. I am happy to hear that you found the service throughout your stay impeccable and that all the staff you encountered was friendly and accommodating. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in November. The check in was smooth and the rooms comfortable with some good views. There is an outdoor swimming pool and a small gym which could do with more weight machines. The bar on the main foyer level is a good place to relax with outside seating, which was very pleasant in the autumnal sunshine. There is free wifi in the foyer and paid wifi in the room. There were occasional glitches with this, but nothing major. You are close to the Gaslamp quarter and there is a lovely walk along the marina front with a number of reasonable restaurants. The only down side is that as a large hotel it seems slightly impersonal. Overall a good place to pick amongst the high-end hotels on the bay front .

Room Tip: Get a room with a window facing north towards to marina. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with your spacious and comfortable guestroom. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our Odysea Lounge and were able to enjoy the beautiful San Diego weather outside on the adjacent terrace. I am glad to hear that you appreciated the convenient location of the property close to the San Diego Convention Center as well as a variety of shops and restaurants in the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great property for a relaxing weekend get-a-way. Centrally located to downtown and GasLamp areas. Trolley stop nearby. Spectacular views of city and Coronado. $27/nite self-parking. Great weekend rates!

Room Tip: Bayfront View is Spectacular! Close proximity to Gas Lamp and downtown areas. Self-Parking is $27...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us on your weekend getaway. I am happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the property as well as the convenient location close to all the best downtown San Diego has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference planning meeting. I have never been to San Diego before so I was not familiar with the area. The service/staff at the hotel are top notch. Everyone I encountered was so helpful and the valet team was exceptional with directions, letting my park for an hour outside the front entrance instead of having to put my car in the garage (even though it took them about 2 minutes to retrieve the car when I needed it) and even put a bottle of water in the car everytime they brought it out for me!!

The hotel is beautiful and the gym is fantastic...no charge to use it either. Rooms are comfortable and I had a great view of the bay. The only bad thing I can think of was that because the hotel was pretty full, it took a while for the elevators which was a small inconvenience.

For people who like to walk or run, there is a great path along the harbor which takes about 25 minutes to walk to the USS Midway and some cute little restaurants...and the Gas Lamp district is just a short walk from the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay. You can watch the Navy ships go in and out. Pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us on your first trip to San Diego. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found all of the staff extremely helpful and accommodating throughout your visit. I am pleased to know that you appreciated all the amenities we offer our guests and that you appreciated our convenient location right on the bay and within walking distance to a variety of shops, restaurants, and tourist attractions in the downtown area. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very clean. Nice staff. Great location. Awesome pool. Only downer is the price of the room and price of parking. Parking was $27 a night! Other than that I loved it. Walking distance to the gas lamp district.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us. I am ecstatic to learn how much you loved your stay and that you found the hotel clean and inviting. I am delighted to know that all of the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating throughout your visit and that you loved our bay side pool. I apologize that the parking fees were higher than you would have liked but our covered parking garage offers our guests safety and convenience at a price comparable to other hotels and parking facilities in the downtown area. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Bayfront in San Diego for a recent convention. The hotel has a beautiful look and great location, but the restaurant situation was sub-standard. The Vela on the lower "promenade" level would close unannounced, had a limited menu and was very expensive.
The Odysea on the lobby level had terrible service and seemed to be more of a bar than a restaurant. The Sports Bar was ok, but not located inside of the hotel, so guests have to walk around the side of the property to gain access. There are plenty of restaurants in the Gaslamp district, but it can be a very far walk. The streets along the way are filled with homeless people, making it a rather unpleasant walk. Better to stick with a taxi. Not a good hotel for someone traveling alone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to know that you loved the hotel and that you appreciated the convenient location of the hotel situated on the bay and within walking distance of the convention center, Petco Park, and the downtown Gaslamp Quarter with a variety of shops and restaurants. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you were displeased with our dining options on property. I am so embarrassed that you received poor service while dining as that is completely unacceptable. We strive to ensure that all of our guests receive the friendliest and most efficient service while on property. I will be sure to relay all your feedback to our Director of Food & Beverage so that these issues can be addressed with the staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I hope you return for a visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.