We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates starting from $159
Ranked #72 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Stay in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A really nice hotel, nice location next to the convention center, ballpark and a short walk to the Gaslamp area.
Comfortable room, nicely furnished and new.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am so pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved your spacious and comfortable guestroom with amazing views of the bay and downtown. I am happy to hear that you appreciated our convenient location within walking distance to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp quarter. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    1,050
    399
    138
    55
See reviews for
565
603
116
1,303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Family of 5 with 3 children, stayed for one night on Saturday 6/16/12 and used Hilton Honor Points for 1/2 of the room charge. The location is excellent especially if you have plans for to visit the home of the Padres (Petco Park) is literally across the street.

What did we enjoy?: Loved the firepit overlooking the bay, swimming pool had a wonderful view of the bay, several childrens' events throughout the evening, 10 minute walk to Seaport Village, the Concierge office was very helpful and friendly and our room was a corner room overlooking the bay and boardwalk area, very nice!

What we did not like: I am a Hilton Honors member and had reservationts, it took over 30 minutes to get us checked in at the front desk! Questions regarding upgrades, Hilton Points usage, etc, the registration attendant had to go ask the manager several times for answers and at one point neither could get into the reservation system to provide us the upgrade that I had requested so a 2nd manager was then required. It took 3 different people to get us registered for the evening. The front desk was all friendly, just puzzled why it would take 3 different people over 30 minutes to get us in the system for a requested upgrade that was in our notes prior to arrival.

Overall, if you are looking for location and good service, you would probably be happy here - the prices here however were very comparable to The del on Coronado, so shop around first.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I am so pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved your spacious and comfortable guestroom with amazing views of the bay and downtown. I am happy to hear that you appreciated our convenient location within walking distance to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp quarter. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Service was poor from the first moment on property. When checking in, I was offered to "upgrade" room for a city/harbor view; for additional $10/nite. I declined and my room had a city/harbor view! I had to ask for clean towels; Wi-Fi wasn't included in the "conference rate". If going to a conference; stay at the Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
I sincerely apologize that your visit was not what you were expecting. I am so embarrassed that the service was not what you were hoping for and that it was not to your standards. I want to assure you that wonderful customer service is of the utmost importance to us and we want all of our guests to feel welcome and comfortable during their entire stay. I am sorry the wi-fi was not included in your conference rate but for future reference we do have free wi-fi available in in Starbucks, Sweet things, Vela, Fox Sports Grill, and we have iPads in Odysea Lounge for our guests to use. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I will relay all of your concerns to our Director of Hotel Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and spacious. Rooms are typical of the Hilton chain. There was a problem upon checking in as the HHonors desk was empty. The regular check in line was obnoxiously long. The spa steam room and relaxation area is complimentary to HHonors Gold and above members. The fitness center is adequate for a hotel chain.
The beds are very soft and not comfortable. The shower head isn't on par for a Hilton but it suffices.
Twice I used the hotel's online guest portal services and twice my in room dining failed to arrive. After waiting 30 minutes, I called and they informed me my order was never received. Then about 35 minutes later I received a turkey panini. Two things: one...this was not my order, and two, it was not even the correct room. Speaking of room service, trays of food sat in the hall ways of the hotel for longer than 24 hours. Totally gross. I also used the online guest portal to order additional toilet paper and again, the toilet paper was never delivered.
The hotel is nice, the food is typical of a Hilton but the customer service portal www.hiltonbayfrontservices.com simply does not work.
Overall, due to the overly soft beds and non-functioning online guest portal and sporadic cell phone service (this is of no fault of the Hilton) I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront brings new life to San Diego. I specifically chose this hotel because I noticed the manager responds to reviews and that point is well-taken because most large chains do not respond or even acknowledge.
The hotel itself is well-appointed, immaculately clean, provides a choice of eateries, and is well within walking distance from the Gaslamp, Petco, and the trolley station.
One day prior to my arrival, I faxed the hotel regarding my Hilton HHonors Gold upgrade and made a request to be placed in a room ending in certain numbers. My requests were clear, however, I knew the hotel would be full during my stay because of simultaneous conferences occurring in San Diego during my stay. I did not expect to be upgraded but it does not hurt to make the request prior to arrival. Upon checking in online, I noticed that not only was I not upgraded, that I was assigned a room completely contrary to my faxed request.
After arriving to the hotel I proceeded to the designated HHonors check in line and stood in line for approximately 10 minutes without even being acknowledged. The HHonors desk was unstaffed. Another guest informed me that he finally left the HHonors line and stood in the regular check in line because nobody acknowledged him. My reservation included parking, breakfast, and internet. As a HHonors Gold member, I received a coupon for Starbucks which was welcomed as I am a fan of Starbucks. I did not receive my breakfast vouchers and had to contact guest services to receive my complimentary breakfast vouchers.
Room 1003 overlooks the San Diego Bay, is completely quiet with the exception of the heavy hotel guest room doors slamming (typical of hotels) throughout the day. The room itself presented a comfortable environment with your normal hotel accommodations. The desk has an ingenious built-in roller table that slides from underneath. Brilliant!
The beds leave a lot to be desired. Typical Hilton beds: very soft, non-supporitve, and the mattress needs flipped or better yet, replaced. It does not matter the rating of any hotel if the beds are not of high end quality. Soft beds are very typical of the Hilton chain and has become increasingly annoying that Hilton continues to choose a lower quality mattress. There is a large flat screen TV but most of the channels are standard definition. There is no refrigerator in the room. The in-room safe does not accommodate a 15 inch laptop computer.
The bathroom is nicely appointed with plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, a hair dryer and was immaculately clean. The entire hotel property was simply immaculate.
Other reviews commented that it is noisy and I did not hear a single sound while inside my room. I also visited another room facing the city and again, no sounds from the traffic, trolleys, airplanes could be heard.
Housekeeping is phenomenal. Simply put...the hotel is immaculately clean.
I dined at Vela. Very good food, well-proportioned and again, immaculately clean. Travis was a phenomenal bar tender and Suzette should be recognized for her willingness to assist Travis when out of the blue 20 people showed up for drinks. Here is the bad... both Travis and Suzette were working late and when I went down for breakfast, they were both already at work again. I do not understand why employers only expect their employees to rest for a brief amount of time before scheduling them so early again. Very disappointed to see them back at work knowing they left very late the night before.
The exercise room includes up-to-date Precor equipment and is clean. The swimming pool area is excellent and is very clean.
I would recommend this hotel even though I prefer the bedding of other major hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01, 02, 03, 04 provide direct views of the San Diego Bay and Coronado.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your thorough review. We definitely appreciate our guests sharing their experiences and letting us know what they love and what we can improve upon. I am delighted to know that you found the entire hotel clean, comfortable, and inviting. I am pleased to learn that you found your guestroom quiet and relaxing and that you loved the desk with the built-in roller table. I am ecstatic to know that both Suzette and Travis were so wonderful during your visit and that they both displayed amazing customer service and team work. I will be sure to recognize both of them for a job well done! I will relay your feedback to our restaurant manager to let him know your concerns regarding employees working back-to-back shifts. I sincerely apologize that upon check-in you had to wait much longer than you would have preferred and that your initial request was not fulfilled. I will let our Director of Front Office Operations know your concerns to try and alleviate this from happening again. I am ecstatic to know how much you appreciated the convenient location of the property close to downtown with a variety of shops and restaurants. Thank you for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and for your wonderful recommendation to our future guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a very good hotel. It's pretty new, and the entire hotel is in good shape.

Rooms are good sized, decent bed, and bathroom. It is a big hotel and it feels it, which can be a good, or a bad thing.

Breakfast is on the better side for a US Hilton, including fresh omelets and eggs. Was expensive for $27 though.

The location is simply awesome, very close to the Gaslamp district in San Diego, close to the petco stadium, the airport and so on.

I would stay at this hotel again!

Only downside, on a Saturday am checkout, there were only two people at the desk, one only with the honors customers, so it took to long to get serviced.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the water, it's fascinating to see what's going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the property and that you loved the entire hotel, especially the stunning views. I am delighted to learn that you loved your spacious and modern guestroom and that you would love to stay with us again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not only are the views lovely but the location is perfect. The restaurants of the Gas Lamp Discount are conveniently across the street and it's easy to walk around the bay to the Maritime Museum. This is a large Hilton and if you are looking for a small boutique hotel, this is not the place for you but it is a very nice hotel. There is a nice pool and a spa (we didn't use the spa). Our room was on a high floor, the bed was very comfortable and I loved the chaise in front of the window! As honors Gold members we received discount coupons for the breakfast buffet and we dined there one morning. The selections were good and the service excellent. The 50% discount made it worth the money but without the discount, I think it makes more sense to go into the Gas Lamp District for breakfast. The Dole ship was unloading and I agree with others, it was fun to watch the process.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views and a corner room has the best view of the bay/city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review. I am so happy to learn how much you loved the hotel and our convenient location right on the bay and within close walking distance to Petco Park and the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am glad to know how much you enjoyed your guestroom with beautiful views of the bay and downtown. I want to thank you for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and let you know that we appreciate your business. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed watching the iconic Dole Ship unload and that you were very impressed with the property. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.