We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #69 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

Great hotel, really cool pool area. I agree with the other reviews that there are a lot of extra expenses like parking and wifi but despite that I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    935
    357
    126
    47
See reviews for
507
548
107
1,163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to San Diego for a convention. As is the case with most Hilton Hotels, the public areas were beautiful. Staff were helpful in all areas. However, when you're paying $249/night plus taxes, one should not have to pay $4.25 for a bottle of water left in the room nor should one have to pay between $6.95 (one hour) and $19.95 (24 hours with high-speed) for in-room internet service. Stayed at a LaQuinta Inn and Suites last Christmas for $79/night plus taxes and got a nice room, complimentary water and internet service included in the cost of the room and a great continental breakfast every morning. So, if you want a nice view and need to be close to the convention center, stay here. If those things aren't important and/or necessary,there are other hotels in the city that provide more services for the price you pay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks for visiting us on your recent business trip. It’s great to hear that all of our team members were helpful, but we are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the rest of your stay. We offer Basic Broadband internet in our guestrooms for $13.95/day, which is comparable to other hotels similar to us in our area. We do offer free wifi in our restaurants Vela, Fox Sports Grill, Starbucks, and Sweet Things Frozen Yogurt. Travelers can also enroll in our free Hilton Honors Membership to get perks like free internet once they reach Gold and Diamond status. Thanks so much for recommending us to others for our views and location. We certainly hope you’ll decide to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego. If you do, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

first off, great location especially if you have a sea facing room, but heres my first niggle: after a long wait to check in (I was in the VIP line as I am a HiltonHonors silver card holder) I was asked if i wanted a "room with a view" for only an extra $20 per day - annoyingly. colleagues of mine who are not HH members were given similar rooms for free!! the next morning we were told there was a 20 - 30 minute wait for breakfast when we could see plenty of empty tables, i.e. they were understaffed. but a too small fitness centre where they wanted to charge $4 for ear phones - How annoying is that?? I much prefer the Manchester Hyatt just up the road.

Apart from that, no complaints and a generally good hotel to stay in,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear of your experience. Your comments have been forwarded to several of our Directors so they are aware. I apologize about the earphones in our fitness center. We usually have complimentary earphones for our guests but they have been on back order from our supplier for the past 2 weeks. Hopefully we will get them in soon. We do charge $4 for the small ear buds, which guests can take home with them. We truly appreciate your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member and hope that you’ll consider staying with us again in the future. If you do, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Was at conference in November 2011. Hotel did a wonderful job - view of San Diego Bay is magnificant and the ability to easily step outside form conference rooms during breaks was really great.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

While I stayed here on business, the location is perfect for vacationing/holidy travelers as it is in walking distance of the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, and the views are stunning.

The room was immaculate, bedding hig-quality. It is also in walking distance of the convention center so a great option for business travelers going to functions there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a very busy weekend. The hotel hosted the Green Bay Packers, tons of very devoted fans, and held two Marine Anniversary Balls. The staff did a very good job accomodating sooo many people and keeping the lines short. We received a notice telling us it was going to be very busy and what to do to speed the check out process up, etc.

Suprisingly, some of the Concierge help was only OK. Better than other hotels, but not as good as some other Hiltons or other better hotels. Although, they were very polite, they didn't offer information. Since we had never been to San Diego, we could have used more help. For instance, when I asked for a map, I was given one which seemed fine. I only realized later it was a only a portion of the area. When I went back the next day, and pointed to other maps and asked "what's that of?", I then received a color map with restaurants/landmarks highlighted and 2 other black and white maps. Much better.

The hotel is right next to the Convention Center but on the far side. It was about a 6-7 minute walk to the Gaslight District and less to Petco Baseball Park. Some hotels are right in the District, which means tons of restaurants, a cup of coffee, a drink are all at your doostep. Prrobably no water view though. I would check out the Hyatt if we went again....it would be on the water and right across from District. I would also consider Hilton in the Gaslight District. The BayFront Hilton has very limited restaraunt choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks for your recent stay and for sharing the details of your visit with other travelers. We’re so glad you had a great weekend here and that our team members were accommodating. Your comments have been forwarded to our Concierge team so they can make changes for future guests. We hope you were able to visit our signature restaurant, Vela, our lobby lounge, Odysea, our sports bar on the bay, Fox Sports Grill, and our shops for your sweet tooth, Starbucks & Sweet Things Frozen Yogurt. It would be great if you’ll consider staying with us again on your next trip to San Diego. If you do, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great hotel, rooms were spacious and clean. Bathrooms actually had drawers so you could keep the counter tops clear.

Typical area parking fees, people who complain just plain have never stayed in a resort area with limited parking, deal with it.

Fairly new bridge over to the Gaslamp district, beautiful at night. Crosses over right at Petco park.

Hotel bar - also typical, expensive drinks. Sports bar downstairs good place to catch a game and bite to eat. Suggest walking over to Seaport villiage and eating breakfast at Buster's Beach House & Longboard Bar. Also a fun place to drink later, great decor and Island drinks. Short walk out the back of the hotel.

Gaslamp district, plenty of places to eat - lots of chains, Ruth Chris, McCormick & Schmidts, Hard Rock, House of Blues, Dicks Last Resort, etc. but you can find, and I would suggest trying the locals. Really enjoyed Nickey Rottens burgers - everything is 100% organic, good food and service was great.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade, I was in room 1256 and had a view of the Coronado bridge. AAA rate of $159 per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us this month and detailing our location to other travelers. We’re so glad you got to walk to so many of the surrounding spots. Another great local restaurant is celebrity Chef Brian Malarkey’s Searsucker. Maybe a good place to try on your next visit! Thanks for sharing your gorgeous evening photo of the pedestrian bridge leading from our hotel over to Petco Park. We look forward to another visit from you & your friends soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#50 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.