We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The front desk service REALLY put this beautiful hotel over the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton San Diego Bayfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #60 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The front desk service REALLY put this beautiful hotel over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I am a VERY frequent traveler and a diamond member with Hilton. With that said, I never write reviews of hotels, even the nicest ones. However, my experience at the Hilton Bayfront prompted me to write my very first... I decided to book this hotel with my girlfriend for our California vacation using my points. A snafu by the Diamond Desk (absolutely worthless service "reserved" for Diamond members) had us booked into the wrong hotel. When we arrived, we called the Diamond Desk to correct the situation, but were told that they could do nothing because the hotel was "sold out." Then I approached the front desk and spoke with Robert and Lorraine... They single-handedly restored my faith in customer service through the following:

1) Booked us into a room, then upgraded to a corner room with a view (even though it was "sold out" according to the Diamond Desk)
2) Made excellent recommendations for dinner, hang out spots, and activities
3) Got the rest of the front desk staff involved in making recommendations
4) Offered extra perks to make up for the short comings of the Diamond Desk staff
5) Continued to speak with us throughout our stay to make sure we were have a wonderful time

The hotel itself was beautiful and modern with fantastic views of the bay and downtown. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was robust and delicious. But it all boils down to SERVICE and Robert and Lorraine definitely made our stay special!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    742
    274
    99
    44
See reviews for
402
460
94
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

LOCATION-
This hotel has a great location. It's right across from Petco Park where the Padres play, the Gaslamp Quarter is walking distance, and if you're interested in the local Trolley Tours (which I also loved)- they've made this hotel one of their stops. Additionally, the popular Seaport Village is easily accessible with a short walk on the promenade that is directly outside of the hotel. Very convenient, keeping you off the busy streets.

STAFF-
Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

ROOMS-
Very much in keeping w/ the Hilton standards. Good size, exceptionally clean, and some great views. I was able to get a room w/ two double beds for $139/night. That really isn't all that bad considering the high prices you find in San Diego at comparable hotels. Internet was additonal, but that's expected.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Pool area is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Good location and conference facilities excellent. The restaurant and room service were well above average for a business hotel. Rooms were not large but new and very clean. Mine had an excellent view of San Diego Bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Hotel was clean, spacious, and very nice. Didn't eat at any of the restaurants - it is San Diego so the weather is always nice for a walk - just across the way is Petco Park and the gaslamp quarter, which is fun to walk around - Gaslamp Pizza is good pizza and at a reasonable price (not easy in this area - 2 slices and a pop for $6). Also within walking distance is the ship museum and the USS Midway. The room was large, and nicely appointed, and clean, with a wonderful view of the bay. 2157 room number. The gym was nice for cardio, they had a lot of floor equipment but I don't know where you would use it. I wish they would give you water bottles in the gym. Overall, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

What a beautiful, modern, clean hotel with great customer service. We had a room on the 24th floor and the view was amazing! We enjoyed having cocktails at Odsea "A Liquid Adventure" as they call it. They have happy hour everyday which most bars only offer M-F.
It was cold during our visit but the pool and outdoor seating area for dinner & drinks looked very comfortable and inviting.
I was surprised that that didn't have an executive lounge and that parking is so pricey.
I look forward to staying at this beautiful hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Great hotel for conference and business travelers. We had a wonderful view of the bay on the 30th floor. Very quiet rooms right next to the convention centers. Traveling with a child, the only thing missing was a refrigerator. We went to Ralph's grocery store to pick up a foam cooler and a big block of ice and it worked great for us to store milk and deli items.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Service at this nice new hotel on the bay was excellent. Location great since it is adjacent to convention center and within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.