We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Topeka to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Great place!! Came here last minute while driving across country. Definitely a good choice!! Nice employees, clean, good free breakfast and homey. Only thing I can think of that is negative is the bathroom door closes too close to the toilet. Have to maneuver yourself in bathroom to get in. The shower tub was slippery and way the tub was made it hard to stand well. But other than that wonderful place to stay!!' Highly recommend:)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at the hotel, both good and bad. We love having our guests tell us what we can do to make it better. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    51
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
70
41
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I checked in by myself with 2 children under the age of four at about 11pm, after driving 15 hours. The gal working the desk was wonderfully understanding and helpful. The room was not only clean, but it had 2 beds + a pull-out sofa, which I was not expecting. That meant that this worn out mama got to sleep without being kicked and poked all night. Score! Then, in the morning, there we actually healthy choices for breakfast that didn't look like the came out of a can. To top it off, I didn't even have to hunt down decent coffee in the morning before hitting the road again. They serve Starbucks lattes in the lobby and just tack the price onto your room. With 2 small children in tow and a lot of driving to do, that is invaluable! I will definitely be staying here, again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Good afternoon! Thank you for the wonderful review. We love hearing about our guest stays and even better when it was an extremely enjoyable one. It truly brings a smile to all of our faces. We will see you again in the near future. Have a wonderful day!
Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was amazing. We were stopping through on a road trip and had a few issues with this hotel. The staff was wonderful and Rasha did everything she could to remedy the issues! Thank you for being so down to earth and helpful with the system issues. I will not stay in a Hyatt hotel until they fix this. I was booked used an entirely different person and had us go to a used room. They need to fox issues before they lose the great staff to a better managed hotel chain.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at the hotel, both good and bad. We know that it is always easy to tell people what they are doing right and what you really enjoyed, it is not so much fun to tell them about a problem that you had. We do appreciate both, it allows us to improve so that next time you stay it will be 100%. We addressed this situation immediately. Our systems have been updated with new software. All is well and we sure hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked here for a wedding. Check-in was smooth but the front desk is not in the typical place you would expect. I was confused. Our adjoining room is perfect for the occasion. Big sofa area with a sink, fridge, office desk. Big flat screen tv that can be seen from sleeping area and sofa area. Nice bath area with sink in separate area as toilet & shower. Nice closet. It is clean but it smells musty? A little strange.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at the hotel, both good and bad. We know that it is always easy to tell people what they are doing right and what you really enjoyed, it is not so much fun to tell them about a problem that you had. We do appreciate both, it allows us to improve so that next time you stay it will be 100%. We addressed this situation immediately and had the unit inspected and cleaned. All is well and we sure hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel and we were so excited about the facility. The pool was clean, the rooms were big and very up-to-date with large HD tv's, play station connections and the work area was large as well. There is a small kitchen area with a small fridge. The bed was separated from the fold-out sofa. The only thing that is noticed but is going to be worked on is the bathroom. The towels are thin and the caulk needs to be redone. The tile was cracked but the sink was quite spacious. I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the double queen beds for an upsized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience at the hotel, both good and bad. We know that it is always easy to tell people what they are doing right and what you really enjoyed, it is not so much fun to tell them about a problem that you had. We do appreciate both, it allows us to improve so that next time you stay it will be 100%. We addressed this situation immediately and had the unit inspected and cleaned. All is well and we sure hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed our time there. We had a 3rd floor room and had very few problems with noise as we were away from the elevator. We liked being on the 3rd because we could just take the stairs up and down to the pool.

The pool is nothing fabulous but it's nice. One thing is that the corners get kinda dirty and oily. Unfortunately that's where the ladder is so you run the risk of getting slimy while getting out.

We had zero problems with the free wi-fi although I don't think they were particularly busy. We had three people online in our room alone with no problems or delay.

Breakfast was good although a bit fancy for our taste. I'd have much rather had biscuits and gravy than a biscuit with guacamole, turkey, egg, and tomato. They had a good selection of cereals, some bagels, some donuts, and toast. The juices were excellent. Coffee was Starbucks which I don't particularly like but early in the morning, beggars can't be choosers.

The customer service was amazing. Everyone was always friendly and helpful. My only suggestion would be to have spare cables (HDMI or RCA) available for those people who forgot to bring them.

It is conveniently located on 6th street so we were able to get to the zoo, capital, and numerous other attractions in no time. Plus the fact that it's near Wannamaker, makes it close to all shopping and restaurants.

If I were going need to stay in Topeka again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. My only real complaint is that there wasn't any sort of "in the area" type of brochure in the room to let us know about the restaurants, shopping, etc. We had to get online to try and find this information.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Good Afternoon! Thank you for the awesome review of our property. I am very sorry that you were not given our Visit Topeka magazine that we have here at the hotel. It is a magazine that lists all of the activities, restaurants, bars, etc. in the area. It even has a map. The next time you are here, you can ask the gallery host at check in and they will be glad to provide you with one. There are also some magazines located in the brochure rack right by the public restrooms. We hope to see you soon!

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperaa cove tx
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have stayed here on our way to Minnesota and on the way back to Texas the past 4 summers. We have 4 kids and two small dogs. The same great hospital it and service every time! Wonderful staff! The breakfast is great and has the appearance and taste of a bistro.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceMNGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Place Topeka, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hyatt Place Topeka. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a wonderful day!

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Address: 6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Topeka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#7 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.