We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Topeka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Staff was Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I checked in by myself with 2 children under the age of four at about 11pm, after driving 15 hours. The gal working the desk was wonderfully understanding and helpful. The room was not only clean, but it had 2 beds + a pull-out sofa, which I was not expecting. That meant that this worn out mama got to sleep without being kicked and poked all night. Score! Then, in the morning, there we actually healthy choices for breakfast that didn't look like the came out of a can. To top it off, I didn't even have to hunt down decent coffee in the morning before hitting the road again. They serve Starbucks lattes in the lobby and just tack the price onto your room. With 2 small children in tow and a lot of driving to do, that is invaluable! I will definitely be staying here, again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    46
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
34
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was amazing. We were stopping through on a road trip and had a few issues with this hotel. The staff was wonderful and Rasha did everything she could to remedy the issues! Thank you for being so down to earth and helpful with the system issues. I will not stay in a Hyatt hotel until they fix this. I was booked used an entirely different person and had us go to a used room. They need to fox issues before they lose the great staff to a better managed hotel chain.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked here for a wedding. Check-in was smooth but the front desk is not in the typical place you would expect. I was confused. Our adjoining room is perfect for the occasion. Big sofa area with a sink, fridge, office desk. Big flat screen tv that can be seen from sleeping area and sofa area. Nice bath area with sink in separate area as toilet & shower. Nice closet. It is clean but it smells musty? A little strange.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel and we were so excited about the facility. The pool was clean, the rooms were big and very up-to-date with large HD tv's, play station connections and the work area was large as well. There is a small kitchen area with a small fridge. The bed was separated from the fold-out sofa. The only thing that is noticed but is going to be worked on is the bathroom. The towels are thin and the caulk needs to be redone. The tile was cracked but the sink was quite spacious. I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the double queen beds for an upsized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed our time there. We had a 3rd floor room and had very few problems with noise as we were away from the elevator. We liked being on the 3rd because we could just take the stairs up and down to the pool.

The pool is nothing fabulous but it's nice. One thing is that the corners get kinda dirty and oily. Unfortunately that's where the ladder is so you run the risk of getting slimy while getting out.

We had zero problems with the free wi-fi although I don't think they were particularly busy. We had three people online in our room alone with no problems or delay.

Breakfast was good although a bit fancy for our taste. I'd have much rather had biscuits and gravy than a biscuit with guacamole, turkey, egg, and tomato. They had a good selection of cereals, some bagels, some donuts, and toast. The juices were excellent. Coffee was Starbucks which I don't particularly like but early in the morning, beggars can't be choosers.

The customer service was amazing. Everyone was always friendly and helpful. My only suggestion would be to have spare cables (HDMI or RCA) available for those people who forgot to bring them.

It is conveniently located on 6th street so we were able to get to the zoo, capital, and numerous other attractions in no time. Plus the fact that it's near Wannamaker, makes it close to all shopping and restaurants.

If I were going need to stay in Topeka again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. My only real complaint is that there wasn't any sort of "in the area" type of brochure in the room to let us know about the restaurants, shopping, etc. We had to get online to try and find this information.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperaa cove tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on our way to Minnesota and on the way back to Texas the past 4 summers. We have 4 kids and two small dogs. The same great hospital it and service every time! Wonderful staff! The breakfast is great and has the appearance and taste of a bistro.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We go to Topeka, Kansas annually and have tried most of the motels. They each have had glaring deficits. The Hyatt Place seems to be the best of the lot. The young people at the front desk are friendly and very helpful. Their complimentary breakfast is modest but adequate with the surprise of wonderful Italian coffee. Their king size bed was firm and comfortable and the room was spacious as it had a modern sectional sofa that opened into a sofa bed if needed and a large, flat screen TV. True, housekeeping forgot to leave us hand towels and true the electricity in the entire hotel went out for about 1/2 hour in the early morning and no one said a word which made us feel that this was not a very unusual event BUT it was comfortable, clean, and very reasonably priced. Did it compare in any way to a fine hotel ? NO, but neither did the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Address: 6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#6 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.