We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Topeka to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Catskill, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Modern, beautiful and very very clean. I would judge the Hyatt Place chain (part of hyatt hotels) as the equivalent in price to, for example, Hampton Inns or Courtyards by Marriott. The rooms are beautifully appointed and are designed as mini suites with a narrow wall separating the sitting and sleeping areas. We stayed for four nights and the housekeeping was excellent. A delicious and varied hot breakfast buffet was included in the room price. There is an open kitchen 24/7 where you can order sandwiches, salads, hamburgers and other beautifully prepared and presented light meals. The lobby incorportates a small bar serving drinks 24/7 and it is a delightful place to just sit or work. Similar hotels do not offer as many ammenities. We booked a month in advance and got a terrific rate. This hotel is definetly a 5 star in my book given the value for the money and its category.

Room Tip: Book in advance and look for promotions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
35
13
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I work in Topeka, but live a little over an hour away. Two to three times monthly, after a particularly long shift, I find myself just too dogged to drive home safely. After risking my life (and others) a few times pushing through the commute last year, I decided to try and find a Topeka hotel that I could use routinely when too sleepy to drive.

After trying out 6 different hotels (Capital Plaza, Comfort Suites, Holiday Inn Express, Ramada, Hampton and Hyatt Place), I can, without reservation, cast my vote for Topeka's Hyatt Place as the best in town.

Hyatt Place has the most comfortable beds, the most modern amenities. It also has the convenience of a 24 hour mini-restaurant which serves both decadant and healthy food options -- something many hotels lack these days. The free breakfast in the morning always satisfies. The rooms are affordably priced. The gym, though small, is better than those of its competitors in the area.

What keeps me coming back to the Hyatt Place in Topeka, however, is the hotel staff. They are always busy, yet consumately professional, smiling and kind. They consistently work hard to ensure I get the quietest room with my bed preference. They work to find rooms for me on the busiest of nights, even when I give them little notice to do so. This is a rare find in a large hotel chain's smaller box facility.

From one tired, hard-working traveler to my Tripadvisor bretheren, consider giving this hotel a try. You'll enjoy the amentities and will be treated like royalty.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

One of the higher priced hotels in the Topeka area and definitely overpriced for what I got. I usually stay at Hyatt's and have not had a bad experience before. Room not cleaned the first day of our stay. Had to call the front desk for clean towels. Happened to be in the room when maids showed up one day and they spent a total of 5 minutes in the room, making the bed and providing clean towels. Didn't empty waste baskets, vacuum, clean around sinks, or replace used amenities. Front desk and kitchen personnel were outstanding. Breakfast was better than the usual Hyatt fare, with more hot choices. Even provided a local newspaper when USA today is the norm. Hotel also may be a bit difficult to find if you are not familiar with Topeka. Easy to see from the interstate, but after that, no signs to guide you to the hotel. May need to backtrack. Pool is outside only, so if traveling in winter, it is unusable. Also, business center internet was slowest I have ever encountered. Even when getting to the desired site, I was kicked-off twice. Spent final two days at another hotel. No free breakfast, but it was equal in room quality and better in price. Unless you get a great break on price, there are better options in Topeka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

rooms are nicely appointed...our room was a suite...bed was extremely soft but the couch was firm...staff seemed bothered when I asked for a non-feather pillow...I had to go with them to housekeeping to get it...then I had to go back to get a pillow case.

Room Tip: don't ask for a quiet room...got one next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hyatt Place, Topeka is a wonderful hotel. We stayed a week in July while visiting family. The hotel was very clean and the staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. If I had any suggestions for improvement it would be regarding a couple of the breakfast offerings. The blueberry waffles would get very hard and cold quickly upon placement in the breakfast area. The pancakes were rubbery. French toast, however, was awesome! We love steel cut oatmeal but was good on only one of the mornings we were there. The other days it was extremely water-logged and didn't taste right. The texture was off-putting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have not stayed in a Hyatt for years. I stayed here in May and was very impressed. This hotel is off the main street of Topeka where there are plenty of restaurants within 5 miles.

The lobby and rooms are stylish. There is a continental breakfast after 7am I think, I had to leave at 5am so I can't speak about it. The rooms are inviting and modern with brand bathroom amenities. My wife and I stayed in one of the larger rooms with a separate seating area and small kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable with large pillows.

The rate was very affordable and appropriate for the type of room we had. The service is friendly though, when asking about restaurants they directed us to the one that is less than a half mile away. We didn't eat there when we realized through Yelp there were like 10 restaurants 3- 5miles further. There is also a movie theater within one mile too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Another great stay at a Hyatt Place. This hotel format is particularly consistent - clean rooms, comfortable bed, large TV viewable from the whole room, a separate desk to get work done, ample easy-to-access outlets and even free wi-fi. A business traveler can't ask for more IMHO.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. This friendliness extended to the over-night and morning staffs as well.

Summing it up: Hyatt has hit the mark with this brand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Address: 6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#6 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.