We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Topeka to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

One of the higher priced hotels in the Topeka area and definitely overpriced for what I got. I usually stay at Hyatt's and have not had a bad experience before. Room not cleaned the first day of our stay. Had to call the front desk for clean towels. Happened to be in the room when maids showed up one day and they spent a total of 5 minutes in the room, making the bed and providing clean towels. Didn't empty waste baskets, vacuum, clean around sinks, or replace used amenities. Front desk and kitchen personnel were outstanding. Breakfast was better than the usual Hyatt fare, with more hot choices. Even provided a local newspaper when USA today is the norm. Hotel also may be a bit difficult to find if you are not familiar with Topeka. Easy to see from the interstate, but after that, no signs to guide you to the hotel. May need to backtrack. Pool is outside only, so if traveling in winter, it is unusable. Also, business center internet was slowest I have ever encountered. Even when getting to the desired site, I was kicked-off twice. Spent final two days at another hotel. No free breakfast, but it was equal in room quality and better in price. Unless you get a great break on price, there are better options in Topeka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    47
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
35
13
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

rooms are nicely appointed...our room was a suite...bed was extremely soft but the couch was firm...staff seemed bothered when I asked for a non-feather pillow...I had to go with them to housekeeping to get it...then I had to go back to get a pillow case.

Room Tip: don't ask for a quiet room...got one next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hyatt Place, Topeka is a wonderful hotel. We stayed a week in July while visiting family. The hotel was very clean and the staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. If I had any suggestions for improvement it would be regarding a couple of the breakfast offerings. The blueberry waffles would get very hard and cold quickly upon placement in the breakfast area. The pancakes were rubbery. French toast, however, was awesome! We love steel cut oatmeal but was good on only one of the mornings we were there. The other days it was extremely water-logged and didn't taste right. The texture was off-putting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have not stayed in a Hyatt for years. I stayed here in May and was very impressed. This hotel is off the main street of Topeka where there are plenty of restaurants within 5 miles.

The lobby and rooms are stylish. There is a continental breakfast after 7am I think, I had to leave at 5am so I can't speak about it. The rooms are inviting and modern with brand bathroom amenities. My wife and I stayed in one of the larger rooms with a separate seating area and small kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable with large pillows.

The rate was very affordable and appropriate for the type of room we had. The service is friendly though, when asking about restaurants they directed us to the one that is less than a half mile away. We didn't eat there when we realized through Yelp there were like 10 restaurants 3- 5miles further. There is also a movie theater within one mile too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Another great stay at a Hyatt Place. This hotel format is particularly consistent - clean rooms, comfortable bed, large TV viewable from the whole room, a separate desk to get work done, ample easy-to-access outlets and even free wi-fi. A business traveler can't ask for more IMHO.

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. This friendliness extended to the over-night and morning staffs as well.

Summing it up: Hyatt has hit the mark with this brand. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The room we had was wonderful. We booked at the last minute and they put us in a suite for no extra charge and actually gave us a big discount. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was very good. It's right next to the highway so it's very convenient if you want to continue traveling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel, as we are unfamiliar with the Hyatt chain (our regular choice was sold out). Modern lobby, amazing and attentive staff who made sure we got our room preference, spacious room with a separate seating area, clean and comfy. Loved it all!
Two things kept this property from getting five stars from us. First, the breakfast was underwhelming. The hot food and coffee were lukewarm, and the cold food was stale. And second, there was super heavy air freshener everywhere, a scent reminiscent of bathroom Polo, which left me with a pretty bad migraine in the morning.

Room Tip: Because of the proximity to the Interstate, request a high floor for quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Address: 6021 S.W. Sixth Ave., Topeka, KS 66615 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#5 Business Hotel in Topeka
#6 Family Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.