We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka to your Saves list
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I booked this room on very short notice on Priceline. Wasn't too sure of the location but we loved it. Right off the interstate and also close to I-70. Very quiet location and the staff was very friendly. The place was spotless and our bed was very comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice. We had a wonderful experience. The hotel was a little dated but it did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    31
    26
    8
See reviews for
40
16
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I had stayed in this hotel years ago, so I went back because of the previous experience. I was not dissapointed. The location is perfect for the areas we needed to visit.

Hotel room was clean and roomy. They have free wi-fi (yeah!) too. The room service menu is small, but I'd recommend the angus burger - two people could eat that one meal alone.

Our room was large (two doubles) and had enough space for a family of three (with a crib in the room). Checking in/out was a hassel, the staff took a bit long and the wait was long as they only had one person servicing the registration desk. The room service attendants were very friendly and helpful - though I did not eat at the on-site restaurant, it was usually pretty busy throughout the day.

My only complaint would be the noise at night - though minimal, you do hear it, especially on a weekend stay. All of the rooms face towards the atrium and the noise from the bar area carries all the way up to the 7th floor (where our room was). So at 10pm when we and our 1 yr old were ready for bed - Saturday night's bar crowd kept us up.

Overall, I would go back - I found a great deal online (you can also follow the hotel on twitter and get great deals that way too)...or name your own price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

The rooms lack amenities that should be provided for the price of the room. Stayed during the off-season so the price was $89/night but that was with a student discount. No complimentary breakfast and the rooms looks very old. Wallpaper was peeling and no wifi. Carpet very worn. Noise level was ok and the lobby looked nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Everything isn't brand new...but so what! The room was big and the bed was comfortable. The pool area was great. Less than five minutes south of I-70. The only downsides were the outdated gym and and bathroom fixtures. We are pretty picky and were prepared for something much worse given its rating on tripadvisor. For what we paid on Priceline, I don't think we could have done better. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Centrally located in Topeka, only minutes drive to shopping, restaurants, etc. Room was clean and very spacious, large bathrooom too. Not sure if I would pay $100+ standard rate per night but I got a good deal with Priceline so it was much better than others at the price. Bar and restaurant are nice, lots of parking. Only bad thing is the fitness center, it is ancient.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadowtrax
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed at The Capital Plaza for one night while traveling through Kansas from Missouri. On the plus side, the parking was abundant and easy, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was friendly, and the lounge area was comfortable. I would absolutely not rate the room/stay as a three star. The rooms, lobby are very outdated and basic - the rooms were outdated, the bathroom needed alot of TLC and the carpets are very worn (I see from previous reviews that they hosted dog conventions here so that would explain the carpet condition). There's quite a bit of hallway traffic noise given the circular pattern of the hallways and the sound from the center lounge area drifts up to all floors and you can hear people walking through the halls. Not a bad place to stay if you need one or two nights and someplace to hang your hat - as long as you get a good price. I wouldn't go back, and would gladly pay $15 more to stay at a better/updated hotel in Topeka.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

My room rate was $189 and for that price, this isn't a great place. The carpet is dirty, the continental breakfast was late and tasted like they ran to the corner convenience store for day-old pastry. The coffee tasted like clorox. Minimal bath amenities. Exhaust fan in shower didn't work.

The front-desk couldn't locate my reservation, the phone in one of the two room suites didn't work.

This is an old Embassy Suite hotel. For a lesser price, it might be ok, but it is not a first-rate hotel. The prices reflect much more than this place has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Address: 1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.