We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice, but lacks amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka to your Saves list
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fairly nice, but lacks amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice hotel as far as looks, but lacks basic amenities one would expect of a high end hotel such as this. No fridge or microwave in the rooms. The swimming pool liked like an Olympic sized lap pool on the website. Amazing how a fish eye camera lens can deceive. It was only 4'6" or 5" max depth and was about 50 feet long if that. The water wasn't even very warm for an indoor pool. The city pool I went to two days later that was OUTSIDE was probably warmer.

I had a room this type with two beds because my family joined me. I'm pretty sure they were just double beds - not queen. I have a queen at home and I couldn't believe how cramped I was. Even after they left a day before me and I slept one night by myself in the double bed, I felt like my feet were sticking off the end of the bed. I didn't get that great of a sleep this time.

I've stayed here four times for business because my company pays for it. If I was paying, I would probably try something different. I guess for free I can't complain...too much.

Room Tip: If you don't need two beds, do NOT get them. Get the single room with a king size bed instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    30
    25
    8
See reviews for
40
16
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Capitol Plaza Hotel is going to be a comfortable stay while in Topeka, KS.

Room: The room I had was on a high floor, with a view of the convention center/arena. The way that this hotel is set up is with all rooms looking down into the courtyard or center of the hotel, which is great if you stay on a higher floor but could be louder if you are on a lower floor. The rooms was clean and large, the bathroom was ok, nothing spectacular but no complaints either. The only issue I had with my room was my key card de-magnetized, and having to get get another one is always a pain.

Breakfast: Breakfast is not free, but to tell you the truth it's worth paying for. Probably one of the best breakfasts i've even had at a hotel and for a reasonable cost.

Location: Like I said, it's near the convention center/arena, so I would highly recommend it that is your reason for visiting. It's also close to the Washburn campus. Ultimately, it's Topeka, and getting around the city isn't going to take you long wherever you end up staying.

If I had to go back to the Topeka, Kansas area I would absolutely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great service, attractive lobby, dining, and bar lounge. Beds are comfortable, and the rooms are large enough to be comfortable. Nice shower, ample closet space, work area for our laptops. We booked a room that did not come with a refrigerator, but upon checking in and requesting one, the staff immediately delivered one to our room. We have stayed in this hotel many times, and always have had a good experience.

Room Tip: Nice hotel bar area, restaurant offers a Sunday brunch. Rooms are comfortable and clean. This is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was recently at the CPH for a show and our group took full advantage of the many amenities of the CPH. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. The hotel was extremely accommodating to those of us who traveled with pets. There were many cleaning stations set for the pets in the event of an accident and the grounds were wonderful for the dogs to get plenty of exercise. We utilized the meeting rooms and the staff met all of our requests. We also held our banquet and a main event in one of the ball rooms. Everything went perfectly and with everything being in one spot we never had to leave the compound for anything.
The main dining room was a bit understaffed for the volume of visitors and the food was ok. Breakfast was better than dinner. But the prices were a bit high. Fairly typical for hotel restaurants though. I was just expecting the mid west to be a bit more reasonable with prices. They really wanted people to eat off the buffet and seemed a bit put out when you wanted to order from the menu. Lunch had a good variety.
The bar was in a great setting in the center of it all and became a nice place to meet and have a coffee or drink.
Easy trip to KC airport though transportation is a bit steep. But if you share the ride it helps and the drivers the Hotel staff recommends are timely and friendly. Hotel desk staff were very helpful and friendly.
Overall it was a really nice trip.

Room Tip: view is better off the backside of the hotel. Our view was over the entrance so it was of a roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I recently stayed two nights in the Capitol Plaza and had a pretty good experience. Check in was easy and the staff helpful. The room was a king size bed which was pretty comfortable. The rooms was average in size and was clean. The fitness room has cardio and free weights which was nice as many hotels now just have cardio only. Plenty of parking and 3 elevators to bring you from floor to floor. The set up of the hotel is like Embassy Suites in the layout but the rooms are not nearly as big as E.S. Decent amount of food options in the hotel area. I recommend eating at The Blue Moose if you are looking for a good meal in Topeka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Capitol Plaza for a three day event at the adjacent Expo Center. The staff was outstanding and helpful. The room was large and well appointed. The elevators were roomy and very fast. Its a bit pricy, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Capitol Plaza Hotel, is one of the nicest places while in Topeka,Kansas for the weekend. Our check-in was very smooth, parking was close & no extra charge! The staff was helpful and the hotel was extremely clean!! The fitness center although not big was clean and had like new equipment, our room was spotless, room service breakfast was very good & well presented. As we drove around Topeka during a rain delay in the racing this hotel looks like the best in town and only about 8 miles west of the Heartland Park Raceway Park. It might be a few dollars more but well worth it!

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice & quiet, the bar & restaurant are in the center atrium and the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Address: 1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.