We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel; Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 SE 6th, I-70 at West Exit 362B and East 361B, Topeka, KS 66607, Topeka, KS 66607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Washington DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel; Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is a very good, downtown hotel. It is well maintained; the room was very clean. It is exceptionally good value.

We checked in very late. The night staff was exceedingly pleasant and helpful. Security was clearly evident both in the hotel and in the parking lot.

At checkout, the staff again was great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for the compliments!! The Ramada is the perfect place to stay when traveling with friends. Downtown Topeka has been revitalized and there are endless shops and activities within walking distance of the Ramada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    234
    118
    82
    33
See reviews for
194
98
44
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapin, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

My son stayed one night at the Ramada Inn on his way out West to work for the summer. He woke the next morning to find that someone had smashed in his car windows and taken the bulk of his belongings. Fortunately he had taken his laptop and other items inside, but his large gear bag and other items were stolen. Precations had been taken to lock the car and cover the items inside. If you are passing through town and have out of state tags, take everything in with you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
The hotel has 24 hour on site security and surveillance. We do everything we can to deter break ins but they happen from time to time. They also happen at other hotels, malls, restaurants, schools, etc... all over the country, every single day.

Taking all of your belongings into your room is the smartest thing you can do as a traveler. A hotel is not responsible for lost or stolen items so you must protect yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Easy to find and centrally located ~ only a short walk to the State Capitol building. Free parking on site, friendly reception staff. Good sized room with all amenities, clean and well-furnished. Reception and bar/restaurant areas very well set out with fountain, plants, plenty of seating ~ looks very attractive. Good vaalue for money in a city centre location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
We could not have promoted the hotel any better! We are the perfect hotel for downtown business, only three blocks from Kansas Avenue and the downtown area. You can walk to the Kansas State Capitol and see it from your room. Come check out all Downtown Topeka has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

When reviewing programs for the Kansas Dept. Of Education I always stay downtown at the Ramada. It has an excellent staff, breakfast and very clean rooms with excellent beds.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahhting, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
We appreciate the great comments and especially appreciate the business the Kansas Department of Ed brings to our hotel. GO SWEDES!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this Ramada in early January and had a great stay! After driving 600 miles we were tired and upon checking into the room I found we were put right along I-70, quite a bit of noise. So I decided to try some 'white noise' and turned the fan on. Except I couldn't get it to work. My wife talked to the front desk who immediately moved us to a quieter room. As other reviewers have said, the breakfast buffet is great, and the staff at the buffet even better. We also thought the pool rocked, with a warm waterfall and a genuinely hot hot-tub. My only wish was that the diner would have been open for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahhting, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you for the response. Our Guest Service staff is second to none in Topeka and specialize in taking care of our guests as if they were in their own home. I would however like to apologize for the inconvenience involving dinner. Sometimes during slow periods the Madison Street Diner will close early but Maddie's Lounge is right next door with the same menu and I'm sure the servers there would open the door between the two areas to allow you to sit in the Diner. Come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We had 2 rooms from hotwire. Rooms were both very nice; beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very good with super service. The only negative was the equipment in the fitness room---the room itself was very nice, but the equipment was dirty from sweat stains, also the alcohol wipe dispenser was empty. The free wifi in the room was nice. The visit to the capitol bldg. was worth it; free tours on the hour.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahhting, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
With the revitalization of Downtown Topeka underway, the Ramada is only 3 blocks from many unique restaurants, shops, art exhibits, and nightlife, as well as the Kansas State Capitol with its ongoing renovation to become the best capitol in America. Come stay at the Ramada and you will never run out of things to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel claims to have been renovated. Parts are in the process and the rest is old and tired. The tolet in our room leaked water all over the bathroom floor.When I went to call the front desk, the phone did not work. We found cigarette butts on the floor of our "non-smoking" room. The beds were uncomfortable, the decor was old, tired and clashing. After having workmen in the room for about an hour, they offered to switch us to a different room. It did have a working toilet, but several of the lights did not work.
To get to the pool, we had to walk through two lobbies, past many meeting rooms and through a construction area.The small pool with fountain was over chlorinated, causing my kids, avid swimmers both, to feel uncomfortable. It was also incredibly noisy.
The breakfast buffet was more extensive than most, with scrambled eggs and breakfast meat evry morning. It was often cold, but the servers were nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 420 SE 6th, I-70 at West Exit 362B and East 361B, Topeka, KS 66607, Topeka, KS 66607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#11 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Topeka or passing through Kansas, why stay anywhere else when you can stay at a national award winning hotel? The full service Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center is a Back-to-Back national award winning hotel for Ramada Best of 2010 & 2011. The hotel is conveniently located on Interstate 70 making it a short 15 minute drive to anywhere in the city and only two blocks from the downtown financial district and state Capitol. On weekends, experience some of the best Live blues music in the nation at Uncle Bo's LIVE Blues bar featuring many Grammy nominated and award winning artists. You do your thing, leave the rest of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Convention Center, Downtown Topeka Hotel Topeka
Ramada Hotel Downtown Topeka
Ramada Topeka
Topeka Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.