We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks to Megan and "Matthew!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 SE 6th, I-70 at West Exit 362B and East 361B, Topeka, KS 66607, Topeka, KS 66607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Thanks to Megan and "Matthew!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The two of us decided to turn a business trip to Topeka into a quick overnight get-away and were sent to the Downtown Ramada. Very pleasant place -- beautiful atrium where I got to spend a very enjoyable few hours reading and relaxing. Overall impressing of the place was very positive, except ...

We arrived just after mid-morning to check in as the meeting was scheduled to start at noon. We understand when that happens that rooms may not be ready, BUT the way in which we were told this information really could have been SO much better! Don't know the name of the woman at the desk but her attitude was that she was really quite irritated that we didn't seem to know that "Check-in USUALLY isn't until 4." Like we must be rather ignorant not to know that, well, OF COURSE our room wouldn't be ready! (If she had followed it with "Duh!" it wouldn't have been any less unpleasant.) We were told that if we checked back, say maybe at 3, our room "MIGHT be ready." Just a general attitude of being harried and irritated and that we were just pretty much an inconvenience to have to deal with! Hmmmmm.

At 2:30, I checked back at the desk (having spent the time reading in the atrium which was VERY NICE, but my eyes were starting to go funny!), on the chance that some miracle might have happened or something! Thankfully, at this time, the woman we'd originally spoken with wasn't behind the desk and I spoke with Megan, who was about as far from our original dealings as you could get! SO friendly and SO helpful and cheerful! Immediately set me up and then even called the room, once I was in, to see if everything was all right. What a change! Interesting how a first impression can cast such a negative light on a place, and then how easily a smile and simple courteous and friendly demeanor can turn the whole thing around!

And then -- how many people get to eat breakfast while Matthew McConaughey waits on them??!! The gentleman in charge of the breakfast area was just a sweetheart of a guy, so observant, attending to everyone's every need and super-friendly and talkative, which was such a pleasure because he did sound EXACTLY like the actor! (Told him that if he'd just incorporate "alrightalrightalright" into the conversation more, he'd be spot on! Said he'd actually been told before that he sounded like him, so it wasn't just us! So much fun!)

Other than the initial check-in attempt, we have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and would definitely go back if we were in the area again. Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing couple of days!

Room Tip: Heat/AC unit fan scared me to death when it first came on, but thankfully, could be made just a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear TajnMe,

Thank you so much for the kind words. I agree with you that Mike, our Hospitality Supervisor, looks and sounds exactly like Matthew McConaughey. Even though Mike did not win an Oscar, he did just win a Topeka Lodging Association award for the Best Breakfast Attendant in Topeka. Megan also does a great job taking care of our guests at check in and check out so I’m glad she was friendly and able to help you. I apologize for us not being able to get you checked in early and the person at the front desk should have certainly greeted you better and been a little friendlier. I’m sorry she left such a bad impression on your stay. I am glad everything else made up for it and your stayed turned into a great experience.

Again, thank you for the kind review and we look forward to taking care of you the next time you stay.

Sincerely,

Rodger Fry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    275
    139
    89
    36
See reviews for
209
126
48
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great place to stay, Clean room, well furnished. Unique open interior with meeting rooms featuring artifacts from former Governor's Mansion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Victor,

Thank you for appreciating the Mansion Rooms, where we feature many artifacts from the former Governor’s Mansion and it is a historic landmark. Not many hotels can say they are a historic landmark! I’m happy to hear our rooms were clean and well furnished. We love getting feedback about our rooms! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Rodger Fry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Check in was a breeze, the Washington Days luncheon and dinner were better than most large convention meals I have had, the room I had was wonderful and the only suggestion for an improvement would be for a small end table next to the couch and a better.internet connection. But the lobby sign says ir is coming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRamadaGM, General Manager at Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Louis,

We try to keep the check in process as simple and quick as possible. It’s good to know check in was a breeze. Thank you for the feedback regarding the meals. We appreciate hearing positive feedback. You are right about the internet; superfast internet is coming very soon!

Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,

Rodger Fry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 420 SE 6th, I-70 at West Exit 362B and East 361B, Topeka, KS 66607, Topeka, KS 66607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#10 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to Topeka or passing through Kansas, why stay anywhere else when you can stay at a national award winning hotel? The full service Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center is a Back-to-Back national award winning hotel for Ramada Best of 2010 & 2011. The hotel is conveniently located on Interstate 70 making it a short 15 minute drive to anywhere in the city and only two blocks from the downtown financial district and state Capitol. On weekends, experience some of the best Live blues music in the nation at Uncle Bo's LIVE Blues bar featuring many Grammy nominated and award winning artists. You do your thing, leave the rest of us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Convention Center, Downtown Topeka Hotel Topeka
Ramada Hotel Downtown Topeka
Ramada Topeka
Topeka Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.