We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works for us and we'll return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Topeka West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Topeka West to your Saves list
Ramada Topeka West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   605 SW Fairlawn Rd, Topeka, KS 66606   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Phoenix
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Works for us and we'll return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This hotel was a pleasant stay with comfortable beds. The desk staff were "awesomeness" and acknowledged at check-in that we have many choices and they appreciated our choosing them for this stay.

On the CLC rate and payment system, our choices aren't as varied as we'd like, but we still won't settle.

The bathroom was typical, and did show some age, but was clean. The double queen NO-SMOKING ground-floor room was spacious with a separate large desk, free internet with the CAT5 cable attached, offered another table with a coffee maker, and a side chair. The armoir held an old style TV (not flat screen) and 3 drawers for clothes. We decided upon check-in to stay an extra night. The carpet was clean and the room smelled nice.

As Gold Priority Club members, we really appreciate the IHG policy of giving us points, even tho we are using CLC for payment. (Too bad Choice hotels don't recognize customers have lots of choices and will spend our $$$ where we choose!)

Room Tip: Is a large complex with long hallways, even tho there are many access doors to the parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    125
    106
    65
    44
See reviews for
211
60
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

If this is the 2nd best hotel in Topeka, I'd be scared to stay at the others! The old Holiday-dome has been thru a renovation, so I was surprised that the beds were so lumpy, and the sheets uncomfortable. The counter in the bathroom had been updated, but that's it. Everything else was old, including the cheap doors, of which our lock didn't work properly. Every time I changed in the bathroom, my entire hand would hit the ceiling, and I'm not tall.

In addition, the breakfast that everyone raves about was a huge disappointment: cold bacon, bananas so brown you'd make banana bread with them...and the selection really wasn't that much more than a typical hotel breakfast - just spread out more.

On the positive side, the staff was friendly, and it was clean. The slide did look fun, but it wasn't open the hours we were there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I had a pleasant room upgrade upon arrival. Although, my bed was in need of an update.(Not as comfy as the updated hotels in the IHG family of hotels).
The front desk staff was especially helpful and friendly.
Housekeeping did an excellent job with my room.
I did have to park in the back and when I came back, after dark, the parking lot light was out. I asked about this the next morning, to a maintenance man in the hall, all he said is that a new bulb was on order. (He appeared not in the least concerned when I told him I didn't feel safe the night before). For guest safety, I think I would have called in an electrician to get this fixed rather than just wait for a light bulb order to come in. Or at least, let the guest know in advance and allow them to park in another more lighted area of the property, even if the staff would need to help with the luggage.
I do recommend this hotel over the other IHG hotels in town and will be coming back in December to stay. Hopefully, the parking lot light bulb will have arrived and been replaced next time I arrive.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are quieter, away from the pool with the 3 story slide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for work. Got a pretty nice rate. I thought the large pool slide was pretty funny, but never saw anyone on it. They had a pretty good free warm breakfast. All in all this place was worth staying and i'd come back.

G Man

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a large hotel that is set up to handle conventions and to keep the families of convention-goer's happy. First and foremost is the pool and hot tub area. Not a big pool but nicely heated with a big plus...A 30 foot high water slide. Man is that slide fast! But beware if children go before you because they often don't get away from the exit point which could lead to nasty collisions. The other big plus is the complimentary breakfast buffet. This is similiar to what you'd pay $15 for in the nicer Business Hotels; fruit (melons and berries), cereals, muffins, bacon, sausage, eggs, french toast, etc. Very nice! The rooms are a little worn around the edges and parking was difficult but that slide makes you forget about all the negatives. Secret...it often shows up on Hotwire at a deep discount.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on September 22, 2011. This hotel is a home away from home for me, as I travel to Topeka frequently. I am a platinum Priority Club member, and they treat me well. Before I even got to the counter, the clerk is saying "Good evening, Mr. Parker!" Glad to see you back! How was your trip?" It is so nice to stay at a place where they know you by name.

I usually get the same suite, and did so on this trip, a nice large living room, bedroom, and bathroom with jacuzzi tub.

While the room does need some updates, the hotel management has been doing a great job renevating the entire hotel, and am pleased with what I have seen (now if they can just get the climate control system fixed!).

The pool area is located in the atrium. I must say, I am disappointed, and do not use the pool when the slide is in operation, as the slide prohibits swimming, due to where the slide empties into the pool. This was poor planning. The hot tub is a large tub, and is used almost every time I am there.

The breakfast bar is a nice treat for guests, with many options included with the room. Pam and her staff should be applauded for their hard work and dedication to make this a very pleasant Holiday Inn property.

Room Tip: Request a room in the hallways if you wish to be away from the noise of the slide/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Staying with my husband, two kids, sister, and dad! In searching for a place to meet everyones needs this hotel stood out hands down. I read some bad reviews though and was a little nervous. However, this place far exceeded my expectations! The pool and spa were wonderful to wear out my restless traveling family to prepare for a good nights sleep! The beds were so comfortable, the rooms were very clean, and the ammenities were extraordinary. Best breakfast buffet i've ever had in a hotel. And lastly, the service was best. Friendly staff made me want to stay longer! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Topeka West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Topeka West

Address: 605 SW Fairlawn Rd, Topeka, KS 66606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Topeka West 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meeting and Event Space for Conferences, Weddings and Banquets Near Topeka Attractions Comfort and convenience are standards at the Ramada Topeka West hotel. Located at Interstate 70 and Fairlawn Road, find yourself only moments away from the best Kansas attractions and nightlife. A relaxing dining experience is closer than ever at the Landmark Grill, located on-site and featuring nightly food and drink specials. Begin your day with a free hot breakfast buffet in the Pantry. Get a great workout in our fitness center followed by a refreshing swim in our indoor heated pool with hot tub and water slide. Guest traveling for work will appreciate our business center, meeting facilities and banquet space, along with Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Our pet-friendly Topeka hotel also offers room service, free local area shuttle and suite accommodations. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Bring the whole family and spend a day at the Topeka Zoo, or choose to witness exciting races at the NHRA Racetrack. Visit your favorite student or go on a campus tour close by at Washburn University, then step back in time at the Kansas Museum of History. The Kansas State Capital is also minutes away from our hotel in Topeka. DINING OPTIONS Landmark Grill, located onsite, is open nightly while the Pantry is open for breakfast and offers convenient room service. If you'd rather venture out, Paisano's Ristorante features authentic Italian specialties while the Blue Moose Bar & Grill boasts delicious pub cuisine in a casual setting. For dinner and a comedy or music show, stop by Jeremiah Bullfrogs Sports Bar and Grill or try a fresh tapped beer at Blind Tiger Brewery. When you're in the mood for traditional Italian food with a twist, visit Johnny Carino's. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Topeka features event space for large and small meetings, weddings, banquet events and more. Also take advantage of our onsite business center with copy, print and fax capabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Topeka West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Topeka Hotel Topeka
Holiday Inn Topeka West
Topeka Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Topeka West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.