We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Topeka

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Topeka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Topeka
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1518 SW Wanamaker Rd., Topeka, KS 66604 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 hotels in Topeka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were a few maintenance things that needed attention, like edges of wallpaper starting to peel in the bathroom and the plaster needing repair over the shower. These were minor things. The front desk staff was amazing! They were friendly and helpful. It sounded like the people above us were re-enacting the entire NBA game aired earlier that night and finally at 11:45 I called the front desk and the girl said she would take care of it immediately and she certainly did. Clean, comfy, and friendly. I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shelby, ia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After reading the reviews, I was nervous. Quite frankly, I believe that some of the reviews are fictitious to raise the ranking.

I am currently relaxing in my the bed at this property. I wanted to get this review in before all the negatives reviews from this date start hitting tripadvisor.com.

My daughter and I were booked here for a cheerleading competition in the area. I booked thru the hotel website, my daughter booked and prepaid on hotels.com. I came down to Topeka earlier than my daughter, granddaughter and my daughter's friend. Between us we had 3 rooms booked. When I arrived at around 1:30, check in was experiencing some problems downloading reservations from their system and also from hotels.com, expedia etc.. I called my daughter and her friend and got the information this hotel need to verify reservations and hold rooms for them. Unfortunately, other people were not so lucky. People started arriving and they had no rooms for them. Expedia kept booking rooms for this property when there was none available. There was some very irate and nasty people and unfortunately they were taking their frustrations out on the front desk staff. These ladies are what customer service people should be. They were pleasant and went out of their way to either accommodate people or find accommodations for them. Congratulations AmericInn for hiring awesome people. Hence the 4 ranking. The date of this stay was April 12, 2014.

For a quick budget stay, this property fits the bill. The rooms are clean, with frig, microwave, iron and coffeepot. In the bathroom, the toilet looks like the porcelain had been rubbed off from frequent cleaning but that is not necessarily a bad thing. The shower curtain needed a good scrub. The only negative is the nasty stained footstool in my room. It needs a good scrub or just removed from the room.

It is right off I-470 but is a little hard to find. Next door to the Days Inn. Convenient to several restaurants and fast food establishments.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very good handicapped accessible room with roll in shower. Room had enough space for wheelchair to move around in and bathroom was very well laid out. Staff was happy to show how to operate the power lift for the pool. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Warm greeting by Tara who made sure to accommodate our needs and quickly and responded to any questions or requests we had. ONLY downside - my pillow wasn't as soft as I'd like, but I can certainly deal with that!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Will stay again

Love the room and the staff. Will be back again and again. Staff was great. Room clean up the best possible standards I've seen so far.
Nice people who enjoy joy the jobs will stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

When I come to AmericInn Topeka, I know I am safe and will be treated well. The eggs and sausage for breakfast was a welcome change. Thanks for the hospitality in 2013 your staff is great! Best wishes in the New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was not clean when arrived, found several empy can, trash etc. Also pillows from previous nights stayers were laying in the same spot as where they slept on the couch and the chair. will not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at AmericInn Topeka, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sarah G,
Thank you for your review of my hotel. Please accept my apologies for your room not being cleaned. This is completely unacceptable, and I have already addressed your concerns with my housekeeping staff to ensure it does not happen again. Please allow us another opportunity to change your mind on your next trip to Topeka.

Sincerely,
Donna C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Topeka

Address: 1518 SW Wanamaker Rd., Topeka, KS 66604 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Topeka 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Topeka include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Topeka is conveniently located off I-470, making it easy to explore the area. Visit Washburn University, the Topeka Zoo at Gage Park, see a NASCAR race at Heartland Park Speedway, explore the Kansas History Museum, Air Combat Museum, or take in an off-Broadway performance at the Topeka Performing Arts Center. Topeka is a beautiful city with a rich history and small town hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your AmericInn Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Topeka
Topeka Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.