We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch is a great deal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiku Japanese Steak House

Kiku Japanese Steak House
5331 Southwest 22nd Place, Topeka, KS 66614
785 272 6633
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 295 Restaurants in Topeka
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch is a great deal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Dinner is good but more pricy... Closed Mondays! Lunch service times vary, call ahead. Fairly decent hibachi style grilled, do not expect high level acrobatics on your chefs part... Bento box lunches are great.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
722 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Good hibachi-style food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

And this is one of only a couple of places to order sushi in Topeka! It's a little difficult to find as it's tucked away inside of a strip mall, but they've done a fun job with the decor and we've always had good luck here. It's also a fun place to celebrate a birthday!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but disappointing entertainment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have visited this establishment many times.
The food is very good. Service fine. Atmosphere nice.
Frankly when we go we are looking for a little entertainment along with the meal. Something a bit different. The last several visits have been disappointing on the entertainment side. Everything else was above average. However when the purpose we choose the establishment is for the chef action and it is limited, lacking and frankly a bit boring... it impact our dining pleasure a lot.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
391 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice place to have lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was able to get away from the Mrs. for an hour and decided to get some Japanese food for lunch. I originally wanted Indian, but I could not find a restaurant in the area. This restaurant made me feel good with my second choice. The staff was nice and the food was great.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The sushi chef was wonderful but the...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The sushi chef was wonderful but the sushi part of the restaurant also seems to serve as the employee lounge! The wait staff loitered at the bar and were incredibly loud and inappropriate. Our waitress got part of our order wrong but was otherwise exemplary. Would recommend but with reservations.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiku Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Kiku Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiku Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.