We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Topeka

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Topeka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Topeka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 SW Westport Drive, Topeka, KS 66604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn for the first time ever and was very surprised by the amenities. The staff was great and having breakfast and dinner included really helped me save some money. I will definately stay at a Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
30
6
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaPorte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Topeka Residence Inn on many occasions and have always enjoyed our experience. Being originally from Topeka, we find ourselves often back in the area and RI provides just what we need. It is nice to have the 2-bedroom suites so we can stay together yet have some privacy and having an oven to use when taking something for a family holiday meal is an added bonus.

I have never encountered a problem with cleanliness and the staff is friendly and accommodating! I have received exceptional service from the manager, Wes, who has gone out of his way to provide a pleasant experience for his guests. My first enounter with him was a while back when he offered an umbrella to keep us from getting wet from drizzling rain. A small gesture that made a large impact.

I didn't realize that I had not previously written a review commending this hotel. I can't reiterate enough our satisfaction during our numerous stays over many years!

Room Tip: We usually request the side away from traffic, although I don't recall ever being bothered by tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer River, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Due to a work project, I have stayed at this hotel 6 times. I have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Beds are especially comfortable with 5 pillows on the king size. Breakfast is good with hot choices. It is a good location with easy access to the freeway. Several good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Upper floors are a little noiser on the freeway side. Even the efficiency rooms are large and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have stayed at the Topeka Residence Inn several times and return largely based upon the reasonable rates and friendly/accommodating staff. The breakfast is good and ready on time (and usually even before the actual “serving” time – which is key for our early starts), the pool is clean, and the kitchens are very nice. Like in most Residence Inns, the larger suites have a large stove that can actually be used to cook on versus the smaller burners that are not very useful. Several times I have been upgraded to larger rooms without asking – this is a great policy and I really appreciate it. The manager really seems to make things work smoothly for Marriott Rewards members. My only concern is that the building could use an update as the bathroom paint/ceiling look worn, there are scuffs on many walls, etc. This does not diminish from the overall cleanliness of the hotel, but it should be in line for an update soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Maids come in your room even if there is a no service sign on your door. They don't respect guests or their privacy. If you want to stay at a place that feels like home this is not the place. Would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopekaRI_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Topeka, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. I apologize you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that these issues have been adressed. We have taken several steps to help ensure these situations don't happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Residence Inn another try if you find yourself in the Topeka area again.

Sincerely,

Wesley Halsey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On our way to Denver we decided to stay in Topeka because we had never been to the Capital city before. Being a Marriott reward member we chose the RI and were not disappointed. The staff was excellent and we were treated to a complimentary upgrade on our room, being a gold member. The room was very clean and drinks and snacks were placed inside waiting for our arrival back from the zoo. Dinner was excellent and we wore that off with some tennis and a swim. They could not be more pleasant or ask enough if there was something more we required. Great shopping options within walking distance too. We departed with nothing but accolades for the RI Topeka.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This staff cares about there guests. My children had a great time in there pool and enjoy there breakfast. Room was very spacious and clean. I liked as Doon as you got into the hotel there was something to drink for you and a snack available.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Topeka

Address: 1620 SW Westport Drive, Topeka, KS 66604
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Topeka
#13 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Topeka 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Topeka is an all-suite property with: complimentary evening social hour (Monday - Thursday), complimentary deluxe continental breakfast daily, an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Facilities and services include:a Sport Court, exercise room, valet service, on-site laundry facility, and complimentary grocery shopping service. We are within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topeka Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.