We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lonnie Q's BBQ

Lonnie Q's BBQ
3150 SE 21st, Topeka, KS 66607
(785) 233-4227
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 314 Restaurants in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Winston-Salem
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Being from NC, we know our barbecue and will be putting Lonnie's at the top of our list of favorites! Super pulled pork, beef brisket, beans and slaw! Had run out of his reknowned potates, but we shall return to try Lonnie's special recipe for potatoes too! Lonnie is interested in visiting with his patrons so we had a lovely chat. We didn't leave empty handed either....Lonnie insisted that we take some ribs and smoked turkey with us free of charge to try:) We will plan our return trip on days he is open for lunch on our travels to and from NC to Denver, CO twice a year. On top of all the good eating, Lonnie's restuarant has a fabulous atmosphere decorated with his own artwork!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“After hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I pulled our RV into the Deer Creek Valley RV Park at 7:45. As we drove in I spotted BBQ. Not really wanting leftovers, I convinced my husband to go and get something to eat. As we walked up the clock hit 8 pm. Everyone was leaving but Lonnie welcomed us in and fed us his Q bowl. Offered us the baby back ribs he had left and stayed to talk with us. What a personable man. His staff were so happy and helpful. We visited while we ate and walked back in the rain. We are rerouting our return trip to visit with Lonnie again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ- Limited Hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lonnies is only open certain days and hours, just make sure they are open before you head over and you will be in store for some great ribs. My wife and I really enjoyed the ribs and cheezy potatoes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ in Topeka!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you haven't been to Lonnie's then you are missing out. The service is great, atmosphere is fun and the food is great. Lonnie's is the best.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

You should check this place out! The pull pork and cheezy potatoes are excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lonnie Q's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Lonnie Q's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonnie Q's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.