We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average museim” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kansas Museum of History

Kansas Museum of History
6425 SW Sixth Avenue, Topeka, KS 66615
785-272-8681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 attractions in Topeka
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The striking "White Buffalo" sculpture outside offers an inkling of the interesting exhibits inside this museum, including a steam locomotive, a Southern Cheyenne teepee, one of the largest collections of prairie memorabilia in the U.S. and a hands-on children's area.
Home base -Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average museim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Not well lite museum. no senior discount not always easy to read the signs on the displays. having been too many musems in our travel we find this 1 is about average nothing really special

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

They have a revolving display and a big display of the history of Kansas including a train and displays of practical to quirky Kansas memoribilia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent museum covering the History of Kansas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Kansas Museum of History is located on the northwest edge of Topeka, just north of I-70. You take the exit for Wanamaker Road, exit 356 and go north. You soon encounter a roundabout. I made the mistake of going just 180 degrees around the roundabout, and continued north, which soon comes to a dead end on top of a hill. To reach the museum, I discovered, I needed to go 270 degrees around the roundabout, and head west for several blocks, past a movie theater, and down a hill to a winding road that eventually leads to the parking area of the museum. The museum is fairly new, and does an excellent job of presenting displays about each phase of history in Kansas. The most impressive display was an actual Santa Fe Railroad engine, built in 1880, with several passenger cars, inside the museum itself. How they got the steam engine inside the museum is a wonder, since there are no railroad tracks anywhere near the museum. I spent several hours here since there is a lot to see and learn. I would rate this museum among the top tourist attractions, not just in Topeka, but for the whole northeastern part of Kansas.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moundridge, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor lighting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I really liked the history. It is thorough and well backed up by artifacts and diaries. It is just quite dark in the building if a persons eyesight is poor.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“If you're at all interested in history, spend a half day here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Kansas Museum of History is truly amazing, with highly detailed exhibits that both inform and entertain -- heavy emphasis on inform. I grew up in Kansas, my wife has spent little time here, and we both were fascinated at the chronological characterization of daily life in the region. Minor issues: The layout sometimes invites confusion as to where one should go next, and some display signage is under-lit to the point of being unreadable (which the museum says is necessary to protect antiquities from light, but there are ways to deal with that). Minor issues aside, this is a wonderful and expansive place. Be prepared to spend hours.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Kansas Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kansas Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kansas Museum of History to your Saves list