We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French fry and gravy delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Star Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
North Star Steak House
1100 Northwest 25th Street, Topeka, KS
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 308 Restaurants in Topeka
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Holton, Kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“French fry and gravy delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The old booths provide a nice romantic atmosphere. They have a wide selection of beer as it is affiliated with a microbrewrey. And regardless of what you have for an entry you need to try the plate of fries with a bowl of dipping gravy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Old school steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Simply prepared steaks that were well cooked and seasoned. Ambiance very old school. The starter salad is not good, iceberg and stock storebought dressings. The fries with gravy are awesome. Service was polite and efficient. The place looked like it could use a good scrubbing though. Booths and defunct jukebox wall units were quite dirty. End of the day though, the steak was delicious. Our family enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite steak house in Topeka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is my number one local choice for a steak. We eat here several times a year and ALWAYS bring our guests here that ask for a local steak house. Our favorite cut is the sirloin steak for two and there have been 3 of us dine on it on a couple of occasions. The waitress cut the salad 3 ways, endless warm bread, and an extra order of potatoes (we like the hash browns AND the french fries with the gravy) creates a very value priced dinner out on the town.

The beer selection is top notch because the parent owner is Blind Tiger and their award winning micro brews are available, along with full bar service.

I give it an excellent rating because of all the times we've been here, especially with guests, we've never had to apologize for an 'off night' for the service or the steak.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“one of the best steaks I have had in a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

delicious steaks,,,along with the great service and sides,,,this is a special occaision place,,,we love this place!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Go for the Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

North Star steakhouse is in North Topeka. It appears to have been a prohibition era roadhouse-and retains the atmosphere. Don't let the setting scare you away, lots of KS State legislative deals have gotten done here (Topeka is KS capital). Simple one page menu. Stick with the steaks and you won't be disapointed. Fries with gravy are the local favorite. Wine list is comparable to economy offering on any US airline. They have a full bar and very good local made beer. Price for 4 HUGE steak dinners, no wine, no dessert, with tip $90.00. Dress is super casual- Jeans, T Shirt are ok.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Star Steak House also viewed

 

Been to North Star Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Star Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.