We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Country Inn I've stayed in, still not bad at all for typical standards. Justin's hospitality and helpfulness redeemed the” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6020 SW 10th Street, 6020 SW 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst Country Inn I've stayed in, still not bad at all for typical standards. Justin's hospitality and helpfulness redeemed the”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

When I checked in the young girl at the front desk was
absolutely unaware of how the hospitality industry works. She was on the phone,
did not acknowledge my presence, made a mistake, and redid her entire phone
reservation without ever acknowledging me for ten + minutes! I had just driven
all day (driving cross country) and could not have been more annoyed by the
ignorant behaviors. In the room, the bed looked made on the outside but upon getting ready to sleep- it was only half made! The fitted sheet didn’t cover the mattress whatsoever- such a mess! I then went back to the desk to ask for another bar of soap for my shower- as it
was missing from the room, and that took the same young lady at least 10
minutes to figure out, despite me specifying that I needed one bar of the bath
soap (generic hotel kind in every room). There were maybe 2 plastic cups in the
room, a very odd whole in the wall with a half-way looking sprinkler for fire emergency. A lady who talked extensively to her dog who also barked extensively were within earshot the duration of my stay. The location is right next to Hooters and in the morning loud
motorcycles revving their engines was enough to wake me up, no alarm needed!
There was a towel hanging with blood stains on it. It had obviously been
washed, but still put back in my room with the old blood stains. The tub was
dirty- had to wash it myself before I could bathe… Overall this hotel is not
the worst I’ve seen or stayed at, but has TONS of room for improvement. The single redeeming quality of my stay was my choice to speak with Justin this
morning and his extreme helpfulness! The other reviews recommended this place
partially based on the excellent service he provides- and they are right! If you stay here I would advise talking to Justin if he is working. He listened to all of my
complaints, took notes down to improve upon certain areas, and made sure that I left happy with my stay. Justin truly knows what it means to excell in the hospitality industry! Despite the negative things, his honest hospitality and genuine desire made the
difference, as the hotel is not an awful “roach motel” type place whatsoever! I suggest staying here but also using caution when doing so; if it’s bad timing
it will not be a happy stay, in my opinion. I would like to thank Justin for everything he has done today to rectify all negative experiences. I appreciate that
kind of hospitality in an enormous way- as I am on the road quite a bit- it makes all the difference!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
83
22
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very well managed hotel, with friendly well mannered staff. The hotel is established in an easy to get to location and easy access to local business. The location of the hotel provides great security for a safe and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All accomidations are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here due to an Emergency situations at my daughter's home. We came and checked in at almost midnight with no reservations and the staffed helped us get the room. I got the suite on the second floor and I really like it and it's so comfortable, quiet. Friendly and professional staff really made us feel so cozy. They are there right away when we needed something. Had a relaxing time with my family. Stayed 3 nights.
Thank you Pam for always taking the time to talk to everyone and treat us like a family. The breakfast buffet is good and you worked so hard. I thank God for you. You are a great woman of faith.

Room Tip: Suites with windows and lots of sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nothing but the best when we stayed here due to a family emergency. The staff performance was wonderfull during our stay. The rooms looked modern and elegant and are very spacious. The Price was great for an upper standard hotel. Everyone of the staff members went out of their way to help us whenever we needed anything. We stayed for about 3 days and every day that we stayed seemed like a whole new breakfast was available. The options seem endless and it's a buffet to not say the least. We will deffinately be returning. Thank you for a great stay Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here due to a family vacation and to visit other relatives. good price for a luxury hotel. it was not the best that we have encountered but it was worth the price and the roms were decent. nice staff too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Justin who worked the front desk was just wonderfull. So friendly and professional, fast and just all around awesome. The breakfast was great, room was nice and clean but OMG staff was amazing. So worth a return stay. They really know how to make you feel like family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were there for two nights but found the room was too noise. I asked to switch a room for the second night.
Then I received an addtional bill for the room switching since I complained their room was too noise.
When I called their manager, he hangup my phone even not let me finish.

Room Tip: Some rooms in upstair were very noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson` at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during this visit. I understand that it is difficult to sleep with noise. I really hope after we moved you to different room on other side that room was quiet enough for you, but I am really concerned regarding the extra charge you are stating was on your bill. I urge you to contact us via our website so we may get more information as we would surely like to make this right for you.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS

Address: 6020 SW 10th Street, 6020 SW 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West Hotel Topeka
Country Inn And Suites Topeka-West
Country Inn Topeka West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West, KS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.