We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely DIRTY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6020 S.W. 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Topeka
Princess Anne, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely DIRTY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was shocked at the condition of this hotel. There were hairs around the sink and in the tub. The towels were dirty...they had tons of black marks all over the towels. I addressed this with the front desk at check out they told me that I should have called the and they would have brought new towels. Since I did not realize the condition of the towels until I was dripping wet in the showers this response was just plain rude. I asked for a manager to call me...I have never been called. We skipped the breakfast due to the overall filth of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I apologize that the condition of our hotel was unacceptable during your stay. Our Housekeeping and Engineering staff is working very hard on raising the cleanliness levels at the hotel, specifically focusing on all guest rooms throughout the property. Our company is also putting together a scope that will include public area and guest room upgrades as well.

Thank you for your patience during this time. I hope that you will use our hotel again and see the improvements that we make. Please call me if I can be of any assistance to you on your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    22
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
11
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What makes this hotel so great is the front desk and breakfast staff. Pam, the breakfast lady, goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable. She will make you a waffle, pick up your dirty dishes, offer a warm good morning greeting, or share pleasant conversation. She will even give you a ride, if you need it! Justin and Chris of the front desk also go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. They always greet you by name when you walk in to the lobby and remember the small details. It is friendly, caring people like this, that help make being away from home tolerable. These individuals do a fantastic job and exemplify true customer service. I love the warm cookies when I come back to the hotel in the evening. I do agree with some of the other reviewers comments about the detail of the room cleaning and room upkeep. I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last several months and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place was great! Justin was super in setting up a block for our group. Chris at the front desk was speedy with check-in and accomadating to our group. The room was very nice, and breakfast was satisfactory. The only negative from the stay was when I asked for extra towels at the front desk. Chris wanted me to bring my dirty towels down to him because he is not allowed to give out extra towels. A little stingy!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband suggested we stop at this hotel since I had stayed at a Country Inn & Suites in Orlando, FL that was lovely and he recently stayed at a Country Inn & Suites in Clarksville, TN. This place needs some work! The sheets in room #117 are stained and do not fit the mattress and the pillow cases??? I'm not even sure they are clean. There was coffee drips that had not been wiped up in the bathroom next to the sink....really??? We are in a non-smoking room with a ciggy stain near the sink. This is not a place I would ever stay again and I am not difficult too please. The paint in the bathroom is chipped and the mirror needs to be replaced. I wish I had some Lysol and a clean sleeping bag. I can hardly wait to get out of here!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel until they get this one in order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a review. I would like to offer a sincere apology about the room not being clean . I understand the discomfort this caused you. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Once again we are so sorry.

Sincerely,

Dave Sandir
Manager
Country inns and suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The desk staff and Breakfast staff are phenomenal. I'm a little concerned about the maid service.
I've stayed at this hotel many times, and I really to have to wonder if they've been taught how to properly make a bed with clean sheets. It seems that when my room is taken care of during my stay, that the bed gets made better than when I first check into my room. Found stains on the 'clean' sheets. The comforter had some fresh stains, that prompted me to get another room.
The hot tub is luke warm and any newborn baby would have loved the temperature. The residue around the inside of the hot tub looks much like the residue from 6 months ago.
There's obviously room for improvement here. If the maintenance staff would put forth the same amount of effort as the desk and breakfast staff, I'm sure I would see a difference. I hope low pay isn't the reason for shoddy workmanship. Even so, every job needs to be done 100%. Wait staff and maintenance--> 50%. Desk and Breakfast 100%. As the Desk and breakfast staff go above and beyond, I rate my most recent stay VERY GOOD.

Room Tip: Tip the front desk staff. They're your first resource to enjoying a lengthy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. We work hard to ensure our guests are happy and your kinds words about our breakfast staff and frontdesk staff tell us we are doing something right!. Unfortunately, we were not able to meet your expectations in some areas but your comments are going to be shared with staff to make improvements. Thank you again and we hope someday you will try us again. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

DAVE SANDIR
COUNTRY INNS AND SUITES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My sisters and niece had business in Kansas, so we chose the Country Inn and Suites in Topeka for our 4 night stay. The minute we walked in the door, Chris and Crystal, evening managers, made us feel so welcome, and during our stay, they were a hoot to communicate with. Pam took care of the breakfast room and was such a treasure to talk with, too. Justin was our day manager and he was so friendly. We requested a portion of the breakfast room in the afternoon and evening to go through a LOT of family pictures and things. They brought us fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. We took several short breaks and they chatted with us. Everyone made us feel right at home. We even got to know Felix, the maintenance man. This is centrally located and a perfect place to spend your time in Topeka. Topeka is so much bigger than I remember, too. Lots and lots of everything. As we will be needing to return yearly, we will definitely stay here. We were here on family business. My younger sister and I came from the east coast and my big sister and her daughter came from Colorado.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are very happy that you found our hotel nice, clean, and comfortable. I also appreciate that you found us good enough to take the time to write a review. We strive for perfection and train our staff repeatedly how to handle guest needs and we do strive for 100% satisfaction. Again, I want to thank you for your time.

DAVE SANDIR
COUNTRY INNS AND SUITES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We rented the room off of Priceline. I was concerned about some of the reviews saying that Priceline customers had to pay more for a non-smoking room. We were assigned a non-smoking room, so did not have any issues with that concern.

The Good:
Location - It's right off I-70 and also on the main drag in town. Easy to access the highway and all the restaurants & shopping that we needed.

Beds - Bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Told my husband when we got home that I wanted the pillows we had at the hotel. They also had an extra set of pillow & blanket in the room, so you didn't have to bother the front desk for extras - nice touch.

Breakfast - They offered both a hot option & several cold options for breakfast each morning. This is a bit more than a continental breakfast. They didn't just fill it with pastries, which was great, we had a good selection and everyone we encountered in the dining room seemed to enjoy the selection.

Coffee Bar - They have a 24hr coffee bar in the main lobby. While it's nothing fancy, it's hot coffee at your finger tips! This was a nice touch. They also offered warm cookies in the afternoon/evening at the front desk - which my kids appreciated.

Staff - Wow! I have worked in a hotel, so I have seen my share of good and bad staff. The front desk folks were great. They were always friendly and answered our concerns about a billing question with knowledge. Other than the one guy I saw yelling at the front desk girl over a parking issue (she still kept herself composed and calmly answered him), most of the interactions I witnessed were positive and attentive. Housekeeping was efficient and you really didn't even notice they were there, but that your room was cleaned and beds made. The front desk folks even offered us fruit during the afternoon for our small children, a courteous thought that wasn't necessary, but we did appreciate their thoughtfulness.

The one staff member that made the biggest impression on me was the breakfast attendant, Pam. She was a hoot! Very friendly, helpful and you felt like you knew her immediately. She was very attentive to everyone in the dining room. She is one staff member that management should hold on to - she really does make the difference in the dining room!


The Bad:
Parking is Limited - The main parking lot is small. Several times, after arriving late in the evening, we could not find a parking spot in the main lot. We had to park in the overflow area, while not far from the hotel, was a concern for vehicle safety (it is Topeka after all). It would also be inconvenient if someone was handicapped - they didn't have many handicapped spots for those who need them. I did witness a very unhappy customer yelling at the poor front desk girl over the lack of parking (not that she could do anything about it), but it was an issue for guests.

Details on Maintenance & Housekeeping - This hotel is on the cusp of being a great hotel, if they would pay attention to the details. The hotel is independently owned & operated, and with a contract, allowed to use the Country Inn & Suites name. That being said, they probably are not swimming in cash, since they aren't corporately owned, so I can pardon them for the lack of details, but it's the details that will make them great.

The little things I noticed - baluster missing in the handrail of the main stairs, luggage marks along the walls in the hallways, lots of scratches/marks on the walls in the hallway, aged wall paper, cracked bathtub (room 315), cracked tile in the bathroom, chipped mirror (put a frame around it - easy, inexpensive fix), rusty grates, broken security lock on room door, had to pull door up to lock with deadbolt - door sags and did not align with frame to lock easily, smoky hallway & elevator. On housekeeping issues, bed spread had hair on it and was stained with white marks, dusty bedside tables.

Final Thoughts:
If the hotel would pay attention to the details in housekeeping & maintenance, they would be a great hotel. They have the location, they have the great attitude & attentive to customers from their staff, they just need to pay attention to the details. It's the details which make the property. If the hotel doesn't fix the detail issues, it will look run down and guests will not stay.

Would I stay here again, yes, I would. The details weren't enough to scare me off this time, but if it isn't fixed, they will not keep their customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVE S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We really appreciate the review you sent for our hotel. Our staff has been trained to give our guests the cleanest rooms in the area. We also strive for grade A customer service and guest satisfaction. We do not charge fees for changing same room type from smoking to non smoking if we have available.Thanks again for your review.

DAVE SANDIR
Country inns and suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West

Address: 6020 S.W. 10th Street, Topeka, KS 66604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West Hotel Topeka
Country Inn And Suites Topeka-West
Country Inn Topeka West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Topeka-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.