We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Food, Elevated.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Stand

The Burger Stand
1601 S.W. Lane, Topeka, KS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 309 restaurants in Topeka
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Burger Stand opened on Sept. 8, 2011 in Topeka's College Hill district. The Burger Stand features 2 bars with pool and ping pong tables. Seating for 270 inside with room for another 40-50 on the out-door patio. Specialty burgers with regular and sweet potato french fries.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Comfort Food, Elevated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sometimes the simplest food is the best food, right? But that doesn't mean simple food should be plain. Well, the Burger Stand takes the simplicity of the burger joint to a whole other level.

They have a great selection of beers. They have burgers, but they also have vegetarian options, and corn dogs, and non-beef burgers. And when you read the menu, it's all so tempting. They do a bunch of different varieties of french fries, and the ones I had were amazing.

If I'm in Topeka again, this is the first place I'll think of going to eat at. Simple food, but packed with flavor, at a very affordable price. Just an awesome place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    32
    22
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is amazing. Great beers on tap, and in bottles. Awesome burgers, delicious vegetarian options, great kids items, and all at an exceptional value. We go back again and again. If you are looking for a good burger in Topeka, this is it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great burgers for a decent price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is the bomb!!!! The burgers are good and juicy and the sweet potato fries are delicious! If you are wanting a great tasting burger with a great atmosphere, you better try this place out.

The back room with the ping pong tables and arcade games along with the bar is a great place to hang out with friends and have a great time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Burgers are great, salads are too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

my favorite burger is "the smoke". There fries are top notch. The fries alone can be a meal. I love the granny salad. it also can be a meal in and of itself. Love sitting at the bar, its spacious and has an inviting feeling. the staff is another reason to visit this place, and to top the list. they have ping pong tables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Burgers in T-town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was so impressed with my recent trip to the burger stand. I ordered the Greek burger. Feta cheese, sun dried tomatoes, olive tapenade, and local greens top a made to order patty, and a butter toasted bun rounds out this creation of magnificence. Not only are the burgers delicious, but to pair them with truffle fries is a must! The staff is super friendly, super helpful, and always greet you with a smile. I will definitely be going back to try a few different menu items and to enjoy a hip and welcoming environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Stand also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burger Stand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.