We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Time Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senate Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Senate Luxury Suites to your Saves list
Senate Luxury Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 SW Tyler St, Topeka, KS 66612   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Time Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in a Kitchenette suite and was very happy with the 5 room suite and the neat balcony. For an "older" property its well kept and clean, living room area furniture was very comfy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Seems the entire hotel is rock solid and very quiet. Caveat -- Not very well marked for fire exits a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SenateSuites, Manager at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. We value your comments are are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have looked into your concerns regarding the fire exits and have added bigger signs in better places.

Come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
60
51
12
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I am glad that I decided to buy a place to stay different than the hotel. I like living in someone' house.
It is closed to the capitol (2 blocks)
It is beautiful with your own private bathroom, balcony, kitchen place without utensils.
The bed and a sofa bed are very comfortable. ( it is chilly at night)
Breakfast on ground floor with good varieties to choose from.
The registration on the first floor . If you came in the front, walk up some steps.
However, If you came in the back, you have to take elevator to the first floor. We got confuse at the beginning. Then we asked someone whose stayed in there; They got confused, too.

Room Tip: I like the 3rd floor on the front with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were unable to book into a different B&B when my wife found this gem. It's an older (1930's) low rise apartment building converted into a boutique hotel. We loved it. It was convenient, clean, updated and the "suites" were large and roomy (we had a one bedroom suite with kitchen and balcony!) and it cost under $100 per night. Highly recommended. We'd stay there again next time we're in Topeka. Breakfast was included too.

Bonus comment: while on an 8,300 mile roadtrip, this was the best night's sleep I got. I don't know what mattresses they use but it was fantastic.

Room Tip: We liked the room near the front but all appeared good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at the Senate Luxury Suites. This place is centrally located in Topeka, a block away from the state capitol. The rooms are apartment style suites, extremely comfortable beds, friendly staff and lots of ammenties (free wi-fi, hot tub, workout room, laundry facilities). Very quiet rooms as well. We will definitely stay there again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent choice for family of 5 where we could get nice suite 2bdr and living room w sleep in sofa for excellent price! We loved cleanliness of the bedding and towels, breakfast offered self made waffles,sosiages and scrambled eggs and much more, charming old time decor hard to find this authentic places,stuff friendly,we liked a lot!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate W, General Manager at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear 4to,

Thank you so much for all your kind words about our hotel! The 2bedroom suite is perfect for a family your size. When my brother visits from MN his family of 5 stays in the same suite; with his 2 boys on the queen sofa sleeper, daughter in the spare bedroom and he and his wife take the master so they can close the door without having to listen to all the giggles in the night :)
We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Topeka!

Kindest Regards,
Kate White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Loved this hotel. Just wish the area around it had more to do. But Topeka is not that wonderful of a place. Mall and many restrants are about 10 min away. Overall the hotel was nice and the service and friendly staff made our stay great. Large rooms too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate W, General Manager at Senate Luxury Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Kpegs,

Thank you so much for your kind review! Next time you stay with us please ask the front desk about things to do near by - we try to keep up-to-date on all the events in town so you can have the best time while in Topeka. We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Kate White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.8 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#5 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topeka Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senate Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senate Luxury Suites

Address: 900 SW Tyler St, Topeka, KS 66612
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Topeka
#2 Family Hotel in Topeka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#10 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senate Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Topeka only 1 block west of the Capital building the Senate Luxury Suites is a historic boutique hotel built in 1928. Originally built as luxury apartments, the hotel underwent renovations in 1991 and again in 2011 to make the most unique hotel in the Topeka area. We offer a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet and spacious rooms all with private balconies. We have many different room types including Studios, Full Suites, 2 Bedroom Suites that can sleep 6 people and our luxurious Tempur-Pedic Studios which feature Tempur-Pedic Cloud Supreme mattresses. We have a full fitness center w/ Hot Tub. Our banquet facilities seat up to 200 people and is available to rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Senate Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senate Luxury Hotel Topeka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senate Luxury Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.