We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Topeka

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Topeka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Topeka
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   914 SW Henderson, Topeka, KS 66615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Topeka
Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was a good place to stop for the night on our way west. Staff was friendly at check in and offered us a free beverage. Pet friendly and it was nice to have a full size refridgerator for the frozen food we had with us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay. We highly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. I’ll make sure to let them know your comment as we always strive for the best customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    7
    7
    25
See reviews for
9
10
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Not clean, coffee was basically brown colored water, left a small plastic bag with medication in it and hotel refused to mail it to us. Manager would not even discuss with me on the phone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Cowgi,

Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, KS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

From the first time I called this property I was treated with virtually no customer service. I wanted to get three rooms close together and was told rudely to keep calling back. When we checked out our rooms were checked out incorrectly. We were accused of stealing all the linens in the room and every time I have any communication with the management we were treated rudely as was my ministry partner. I deal all the phone in business all day for over 32 years and the first contact I had with the manager I had to make an excuse that I would call back to calm her down. Do not call the Corporation customer service that is a waste of time they told me they always side with the hotel. So why call? We had planned to use the Candlewood Suites exclusively for our traveling ministry and will not consider this hotel EVER! We are still praying for the management team at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear SusanHutchinson_KS,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Best Regards,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Topeka Candlewood is the worst in the chain in my experience. I've had multiple stays in other locations with no problems until Topeka. There was hair in the refrigerator and clumps of dust spewed from the air conditioner onto the sofa. The elevator was out of service, and because I was doing laundry, I had to make repeated trips from my room to the main floor. Each time, I had to step among the coiled hoses of the unused carpet cleaning equipment that entirely blocked the hallway. (Since the elevator wasn't running, the equipment simply could've been moved in front of the elevator doors and kept the hallway clear.) The staff I saw were not friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Abby226,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here twice during cross-country car trips because it's the lowest priced Priority Club hotel in the general Kansas City area. Little or no traffic and lots of places to eat nearby. Rooms are fine, clean, everything works etc.
I did have a little problem with the night clerk when I walked in without a reservation. They had plenty of rooms but he insisted I use the house phone to call for a reservation before he could check me in! He said he didn't know how to work the computer unless there was a pre-existing reservation! Dumb kid; dumber hotel manager for not training his people properly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear TheTimMan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed in this location while working as a temp manager for On the Border Mexican Restaurant and Cantina. I was there for 15 weeks and the hotel staff went out of their way to insure I was comfortable! Jennifer even took the time to make me a list of her favorite things to do in Topeka to help me spare the time! If you are ever in the area I highly recommend this as a great location for an affordable price! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It’s pleasing that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely pass this on to our employees and give them a tap at the back for doing a great job. And thank you for recommending our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I recently relocated to the Topeka area for employment and had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a month until my apartment was ready. It was comfortable, the staff was friendly and I never walked out of the building without someone saying hello. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping is weekly instead of daily,but I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay while relocating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Topeka, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
It is nice to read that you remark the perfect location and value of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. And we highly appreciate the kind words that you have for our staffs. I’ll make sure to let them know your comment as we always strive for the best customer experience. And recommending our hotel truly means a lot. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Topeka

Address: 914 SW Henderson, Topeka, KS 66615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Topeka 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Topeka Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count, in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines and ample lighting. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy watching complimentary movies on the in-room DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals and snacks. The Candlewood Suites Topeka is located in the heart of Topeka's business and retail district at I-70 and Wanamaker. We are near the Kansas state capitol building and Washburn University. Companies such as Goodyear, Payless Shoe Source, Hill's Pet Nutrition, Frito Lay and BNSF Railwayare a short drive from the hotel. Make sure you also make some time to see downtown Topeka and the Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site. Pets are welcome with a non-refundable fee of $75 for 1 to 6 days, $150 for 7 plus days. Pet policy must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for copy of pet policy. Room cleaning is provided once every 7 days. The maximum # of people allowed (including children) in a room is 2 in a room with 1 bed and 4 in a room with 2 beds. The front desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Topeka
Topeka Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Topeka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.